I-League Team of the Round 24: Goals galore as Salgaocar hit form again

Goal revisits all the action from week 24 of the I-League and picks a team from the week’s best performers...
Churchill Brothers had a chance in this round to extend their lead to 7points, after second placed East Bengal could only draw their game against Sporting Clube de Goa. Dempo ensured that the race to title would continue to be interesting after holding Churchill to a 2-2 draw allowing East Bengal to still hope of an I-League title. On the other end of the table United Sikkim were taught a footballing lesson by Salgaocar FC, losing 9-0.

Josimar scored a hat-trick while Francis Fernandes and Marcus Mascarenhas scored a brace each in the triumph, while Luciano Sobrosa scored a penalty. This result further dampens the Snow Lions' chance of saving themselves from relegation with just three games to go.

East Bengal’s title hopes received a major blow, as they were held to a 1-1 draw by Sporting Clube de Goa, in an I-League encounter at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata. Juan Pena gave the visitors a surprise lead in the 44th minute, with a brilliant effort from outside the box. Chidi Edeh replied for Trevor Morgan’s side, with a header in the second half.

Mohun Bagan bagged another last gasp victory, this time over relegation threatend Air India, to steer clear of the bottom two themselves. Following their last-gasp winner against Mumbai FC in their last outing, Karim Bencherifa's men struck deep into stoppage-time as they beat Air India 3-2 in an I-League encounter at the Kalyani Stadium to deny the visitors a share of the spoils.

Prayag United brushed aside an average Pailan Arrows team by 4-1 margin, in an I-League encounter at the Kalyani Stadium, last Friday. Kayne Vincent scored two while Ranti Martins and Mohammad Rafiq struck once each for Prayag United. Arrows pulled one back in the second half injury time, when Pronay Halder scored from a penalty.

Pune FC fended off a late ONGC rally to register a 1-0 win in an I-League encounter at the Dr. Ambedkar Stadium in Delhi. James Moga got the all-important goal in the second minute of first half, after having missed several other opportunities to put his side ahead. Pune FC now are on 40 points from 22 games, two points clear of Prayag United, who have also played two games more.

Shillong Lajong brought their winless streak to a halt, as they defeated Mumbai FC 2-0, in an I-League encounter at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Shillong. Minchol Son had headed the home side ahead in the 33rd minute, before Sushil Singh doubled his team’s advantage in the 77th minute.

Churchill Brothers SC keep a five-point lead between themselves and East Bengal after coming back twice, both through Sunil Chhetri goals on either side of half time to draw 2-2 with Dempo SC, for whom Ryuji Sueoka and Climax Lawrence had given the lead twice.




Wailadmi Passah
Shillong Lajong FC

Minchol Son
Shillong Lajong FC

Luciano Sabrosa
Salgaocar F.C

Pune FC


Mohammed Rafique
Prayag United S.C.


Denson Devadas
Mohun Bagan


Climax Lawrence
Dempo SC


Sunil Chhetri
Churchill Brothers FC

Salgaocar FC


Francis Fernandes
Salgaocar FC