I-League team of the round 8 - Minchol Son and Sushil Kumar lead Lajong forward

Goal.com summarizes all the action of the I-League and selects a team from the best performers of round 8...
 Ayush Srivastava
 Feature | I-League
Follow on

I-League’s round 8 saw a few major clashes between teams who are expected to compete against each other for league positions at the end of the season, both at the top and bottom of the table.

The 3-3 draw between Air India and United Sikkim though, helped neither side. The two club’s stay bottom and third from bottom respectively. Bhaichung Bhutia’s side will be particularly disappointed with that result, as they lost the lead twice in the last 5 minutes.

East Bengal registered another cleansheet on their way to a 1-0 win against struggling Salgaocar FC. The Red and Gold have conceded just a solitary goal in 8 games. A mind-blowing stat.

Pune FC recovered from a disappointing draw against United Sikkim with a win against Sporting Clube de Goa. The Flaming Oranje dominated large periods of the game and will feel they didn’t deserve to go down by a scoreline of 2-1.

Shillong Lajong cemented their position in mid-table, as they registered a 3-1 win over Pailan Arrows. Arthur Papas’ side though, stay a point ahead of Lajong in the table.

With East Bengal winning, the pressure on Prayag United and Churchill Brothers was high, as neither side could afford to slip-up. However the Goans triumphed 2-1 and stay 2 points behind the Red and Gold.

A resurgent Mumbai FC meanwhile edged past 10-man ONGC 1-0 in a dull encounter in Pune, with the highlight of the match being the drama that surrounded Katsumi Yusa’s red card.

Dempo SC then ensured that Karim Bencherifa’s return to Goa ended rather uncomfortably, as they thumped Mohun Bagan 3-0 at the Fatorda Stadium. The result helps them stay in touch with East Bengal, while delivering a body blow to the title aspirations of the Mariners.


Karanjit Singh
Salgaocar FC

Minchol Son
Shillong Lajong

Bilal Najjarin
Churchill Brothers SC


Anas Edathodika
Pune FC

Ryuji Sueoka

Dempo SC

Evans Quao
Mumbai FC

Godwin Franco
Dempo SC

Harmanjot Khabra
East Bengal

Subhash Singh
Pune FC

Sushil Kumar Singh
Shillong Lajong


Nuruddin Salau
United Sikkim

Do YOU agree with our team of the round? Let us know by commenting below......

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.