I-League team of the round 1: Ranti Martins and Mahesh Gawli star for their respective clubs

Goal.com summarizes all the action of the I-League and selects a team from the best performers of round 1...

Unpredictable, exciting and with plenty of goalmouth action, the I-League is well and truly underway.

Matchday one could not have gotten off to a more exciting beginning, as United Sikkim twice came from behind against heavyweights Salgaocar FC, before eventually beating them 3-2, in perhaps the biggest upset of the weekend.

Not to be left too far behind were their North-East rivals Shillong Lajong, who stunned Mohun Bagan 2-0, to leave the Mariners and their coach with plenty to ponder over.

Pailan Arrows then did something that was a rarity last season – win, as they punished an error strewn display by Mumbai FC, beating Khalid Jamil’s side 3-2. The loss will have reignited the fears of the fans of the Mumbai based club, which was too close to the relegation zone for their comfort last campaign.

Dempo SC showed that they would not allow any opponent to take their title away without a fight, as they edged past Goan rivals Churchill Brothers in a tightly contested encounter, which was decided by Ryuji Sueoka’s brace, with Beto’s goal for the Red Machines sandwiched in between.

Prayag United handed their coach Sanjoy Sen a reprieve, as even after being down to ten men, they thumped Air India 5-1, with Ranti Martins showing why the Kolkatan outfit splashed out crores on his services.

Sporting Clube de Goa gave East Bengal a wake-up call, as the Federation Cup champions were held to a draw by the Goans, with Trevor Morgan’s side guilty of missing several chances.

The matchday ended in a similar fashion as it began, with Pune FC winning 3-2. However the host's path to victory could not have been more different than United Sikkim’s victory, as ONGC restored parity in the game, before S. Venkatesh steered the Red Lizards to their first ever win on the opening day of the season.


Ashok Singh
Sporting Clube de Goa

Naoba Singh

East Bengal

Minchol Son
Shillong Lajong

Mahesh Gawli
Dempo SC

Pritam Kotal
Pailan Arrows

Boithang Haokip

Shillong Lajong

Katsumi Yusa

Douhou Pierre
Pune FC

Linekar Machado
United Sikkim

Ryuji Sueoka
Dempo SC

Ranti Martins
Prayag United SC

Follow Ayush Srivastava on 

Do YOU agree with our team of the round? Let us know by commenting below......

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.