Ajax secure 32nd league title

The Amsterdam outfit cruised to victory over Willem II on Sunday to wrap up their third straight Dutch crown and relegate their opponents
Ajax claimed the Eredivisie crown for the 32nd time on Sunday thanks to a 5-0 victory over Willem II at the Amsterdam ArenA.

Goals from Kolbeinn Sigthorsson, Christian Eriksen, Viktor Fischer, Siem de Jong and Danny Hoesen paved the way towards a third straight title for the capital club, who sit four points clear of PSV with one game to spare.

The title is their third in as many seasons and sees Frank de Boer become only the third Ajax coach to have masterminded a treble of successive championships after Rinus Michels and Louis van Gaal.

However, their Tilburg-based opponents have now been relegated back to the Eerste Divisie after just one season in the top flight following the heavy loss.

Ajax round their campaign off next weekend with a trip to Groningen.