thumbnail Hello,


  • 4 November 2012
  • • 14:00
  • • Paljor Stadium, Gangtok, Sikkim

United Sikkim FC - Pailan Arrows Preview: Can the Arrows continue their unbeaten run?

United Sikkim FC - Pailan Arrows Preview: Can the Arrows continue their unbeaten run?


United Sikkim will look to continue their good performance against Dempo when they take on Pailan Arrows who are still unbeaten...


Monotosh Singh
A.Chhetri,Anwar Ali,Mobin,Munmun Lugun
Zenith, Rahul,Sonam,Michael,Lineker

Bag, Shouvik, Deepak, Kotal
Prabir, Milan, Rajinder,Shaiju
Alwyn, Narzary

United Sikkim can consider themselves unlucky as they went down to defending champions Dempo even though they were the better of the two sides in question in their last game. Profligacy in front of goal and key decisions not going their way certainly did not help the matter further.

United Sikkim will take a lot of positives out of the Dempo match

Striking options upfront are a problem for the newly promoted outfit as Budhiram Tudu who had joined from East Bengal missed some gilt edged-chances in their previous match.  However the inspirational performance from experienced India international defender, Anwar Ali will please Philippe De Ridder as he held the fort marvelously against the free scoring Goans.

Pailan Arrows, meanwhile have had a fairy tale start to the season as they are still unbeaten, having won two and drawn one of their three matches so far. They epitomize the saying that the team is more important than individual brilliance.

The Papas revolution at Pailan

Credit should be given to new coach, Arthur Papas who has instilled in the boys the ability to score goals which was distinctly lacking in the last season. Although Pailan scored 6 goals in their first two matches they did concede 4 goals in return.

However, Papas clearly showed that his team can defend too as they shut shop against Salgaocar FC in their own backyard.


United Sikkim: Defender Sandesh Jhingan, who picked up a red card against Dempo SC in the last match, is likely to be replaced by Mobin Rai. Monotosh Singh will likely start in goal in place of Yoon Tae who picked up a knock. Bhaichung Bhutia is available for selection however he isn't expected to start. Safar Sardar has been added on their roster on-loan from East Bengal. Tudu is injured for the tie and De Ridder might shore up his midfield by bringing on Zenith in the starting eleven.

Pailan Arrows: With Papas effectively rotating his squad, Shouvik Ghosh may reprise his role at the back after a commanding performance along with man of the match, Deepak Devrani. Upfront, Alwyn George will look to partner the free scoring Holicharan Narzary who has already scored 3 goals so far.

  • Pailan Arrows have continued their unbeaten run from the Federation Cup and along with East Bengal are the only team to have not been beaten yet in Indian domestic football. They were unbeaten in the Durand Cup too, while East Bengal did not participate.
  • Pailan Arrows cannot be relegated from the I-League.
  • United Sikkim coach, Philippe De Ridder had formerly coached Kolkata giants, East Bengal and also had a short stint with Prayag United.

Follow Kaustav Bera on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 28-Jan-2013 Pailan Arrows F.C. 1 - United Sikkim F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 04-Nov-2012 United Sikkim F.C. 0 - Pailan Arrows F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Yoon TaeGoalkeeper
5Anwar AliDefender
22Ashish ChettriDefender
22Munmun LugunDefender
27M. RodríguezDefender
29Rahul JaiswalDefender
36Safar SardarDefender
14Shabbir AliMidfielder
17Lineker MachadoMidfielder
10Nurudeen SalauStriker
11Nima TamangStriker
1Monotosh GhoshGoalkeeper
4D.G. AttiviMidfielder
24Mobin RaiDefender
6Thupden BhutiaMidfielder
19Sahensha AnsariMidfielder
20Nadong BhutiaStriker
15Bhaichung BhutiaStriker
29S. AnganbaGoalkeeper
26Shouvik GhoshDefender
12Pritam KotalDefender
24Rajinder KumarDefender
4Deepak DevraniDefender
8Ongnam Milan SinghMidfielder
36Prabir DasMidfielder
42Narayan DasMidfielder
43Pronay HalderMidfielder
39Alwyn GeorgeStriker
41Holicharan NarzaryStriker
1Ravi KumarGoalkeeper
3R.Vishal KumarDefender
6Avinabo BagDefender
19Tirthankar SarkarMidfielder
27Shaiju MonMidfielder
17Dhanpal GaneshanMidfielder
13Malsawm FelaStriker

From the web