thumbnail Hello,


  • 2 November 2013
  • • 15:30
  • • Duler Stadium, Mapusa
  • Referee: A. Rowan

Preview: Sporting Goa - Pune FC

Sporting Clube de Goa - Pune FC Preview: Can the Goan outfit stop the Red Lizards' unbeaten run?

Preview: Sporting Goa - Pune FC

Pune FC

Pune FC is the only side to remain unbeaten in the I-League as they take on Oscar Bruzon's outfit in a round eight encounter...

Sporting Clube de Goa will hope to make  their dominance in games count when they face a strong test in Pune FC on Saturday at the Duler Stadium, Goa.

In their last game against Mohammedan Sporting, despite controlling the proceedings for much of the game, they ended up losing the tie 3-1 and even saw their striker Boima Karpeh being sent-off and get a suspension for two matches.

However coach Oscar Bruzon preferred to look on the positive side by stating that it gives him an opportunity to test his Indian strikers, namely Victorino Fernandes and Dawson Fernandes.

The Spaniard believes that Pune FC are a tough nut to crack but has backed the talent in his squad to do the needful should they play up to their potential.

“If we play to our full strength, then we can beat anyone,” he said.

The Flaming Oranje shall miss the services of Jovel Martins and Mackroy Peixoto, who are injured. Defender Joyner Lourenco, who missed the last match against Mohammedan Sporting, is expected to feature in the starting line-up against Pune FC.

"Joyney [Lourenco] is okay and actually, I'm think Joyner can play an important role in the game in the first eleven," said Bruzon.

On the other hand, with four wins in their five matches, Pune FC have been enjoying a blistering form and are still unbeaten under coach Mike Snoei.

This will be Pune FC's first competitive match at the Duler stadium under the tutelage of their new coach although they did play a few friendlies in the pre-season. The Red Lizards have won six of their last eight ties in Goa.

Pune's laterst signing in Mustapha Riga, who has replaced Raul Fabiani, could make his debut on Saturday. The Dutch national was forced to miss the last match due to paperwork. Striker James Meyer has meanwhile not traveled to Goa.

A positive result against Sporting will help Pune FC equal their longest-ever unbeaten streak off 11 matches (24 November 2011 to 28 January 2012 in the 2011-12 season) giving them a chance of extending it further, while also challenging the top spot.

Snoei wasn’t too happy with their display in the 1-0 victory over Rangdajied United and will hope that his boys step up their performance if they hope to overcome Sporting in Goa.

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 16-Feb-2014 Pune FC 1 - Sporting Clube de Goa 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 02-Nov-2013 Sporting Clube de Goa 2 - Pune FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 20-Jan-2013 Pune FC 0 - Sporting Clube de Goa 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 27-Nov-2012 Sporting Clube de Goa 1 - Pune FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 01-Feb-2012 Sporting Clube de Goa 4 - Pune FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Ravi KumarGoalkeeper
3Matthew GonsalvesDefender
9Arturo Navarro GarciaMidfielder
18Singam Rojen SinghDefender
33Joyner LourencoDefender
15Pratesh Shirodkar Midfielder
21Cajetan FernandesMidfielder
23Rowllin BorgesMidfielder
8Ogba Kalu NnannaMidfielder
14Victorino FernandesStriker
40Melroy FernandesGoalkeeper
4Deepak DevraniDefender
22Joseph PereiraMidfielder
24Rovan PereiraDefender
26Velito CruzMidfielder
10Dawson FernandesStriker
17Stephen BarrettoMidfielder
1Amrinder SinghGoalkeeper
2Othallo TabiaDefender
4Calum AngusDefender
5Gurjinder KumarDefender
15Anas EdathodikaDefender
8Arata IzumiMidfielder
11Douhou PierreMidfielder
16Velington RochaMidfielder
17Dhanpal GaneshanMidfielder
23Mumtaz AkhtarMidfielder
7Mustapha RigaStriker
22Arup DebnathGoalkeeper
6Shanmugam VenkateshMidfielder
13Zohmingliana RalteDefender
24Salam Ranjan SinghDefender
19Nikhil KadamMidfielder
26Fanai LalrempuiaMidfielder
28Thongkhosiem HaokipStriker

From the web