thumbnail Hello,


  • 29 December 2012
  • • 14:00
  • • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Shillong, Meghalaya

Shillong Lajong FC - Pune FC Preview: Will Derrick Perreira's men continue their unbeaten run?

Shillong Lajong FC - Pune FC Preview: Will Derrick Perreira's men continue their unbeaten run?

Anselm Noronha

Desmond Bulpin's Shillong Lajong welcome a Pune FC side who are high on confidence after comprehensively beating Dempo SC and Prayag United in the previous rounds...


Subash, Govin, Son, Mawia;
Renedy, Chitrasen,Lyngdoh, Jibon;
Friday, Sushil


Ramu, Edathodika, Wali, Gurujinder;
Karma, Mumtaz, Douhou, Paite;
Subhash, Moga


Shillong Lajong FC will be smarting after they were comprehensively defeated by Santosh Kashyap's ONGC FC in their Round 12 I-League match in Delhi. Desmond Bulpin will be wondering how his side were so defensively suspect against an ONGC team whose manager took charge of his first game. Their task is not going to get any easier, as Derrick Perreira's Pune FC come calling in Round 13 of the I-League.

Bulpin can take solace from the fact that Lajong are unbeaten in their last two games at home which included a draw against East Bengal. The North-East outfit will have to come up with a similar performance if they are to go the distance against a Pune FC side who just don't like to lose.

The Red Lizards are on a roll...

It would have been a happy Christmas for the men from Pune, as the Red Lizards pulled off another masterful performance to shrug off the challenge of Prayag United. Derrick Perreira's men defeated Eelco Schattorie's troops by 3-1 which underlined the title credentials of the Pune club.

The Lizards now travel to the North-East, fancying their chances against Bulpin's Shillong Lajong FC who are on the back of a defeat to Santosh Kashyap's ONGC FC. The passionate home support and cooler climate could though, make it a difficult challenge for Pereira's men. But the firepower that the Lizards possess is more than capable of obtaining a favourable result from the North-East.


Shillong Lajong FC– The north eastern side do have several injury worries as Ebi Sukore, Boithang Haokip and Lalramluaha aren't fit for the tie.

Pune FC– With a fully fit squad to choose from, there won't be much of a selection headache for Derrick Perreira who is likely to use the same team that won against Dempo and Prayag United.

  • The last 5 encounters between the two sides have four draws and one win for Shillong Lajong FC.
  • Pune FC have scored 14 goals in their last five games and conceded only 5.
  • Shillong Lajong FC have scored the same number of goals as those conceded by Pune FC.

Follow Srinivasan Mohan on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 08-Mar-2014 Pune FC 2 - Shillong Lajong FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 29-Sep-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 0 - Pune FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 24-Mar-2013 Pune FC 2 - Shillong Lajong FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 29-Dec-2012 Shillong Lajong FC 1 - Pune FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 28-Jan-2012 Shillong Lajong FC 1 - Pune FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Lalthuammawia RalteGoalkeeper
2Govin SinghDefender
3Wailadmi PassahDefender
17Jibon SinghDefender
6Minchol SonDefender
23Lalchhuan MawiaDefender
6Renedy SinghMidfielder
9Chitrasen SinghMidfielder
10Eugeneson LyngdohMidfielder
16Sushil SinghStriker
22Friday GbenemeStriker
25Subhash SinghDefender
24M. Basanta SinghMidfielder
28Samuel ShadapDefender
29TH.Bipin SinghMidfielder
30Lalrinzuala KhiangteDefender
26Jacob LalrawngbawlaMidfielder
24Shaiborlang KharpanStriker
26Abhra MondalGoalkeeper
2Othallo TabiaDefender
4Chika WaliDefender
5Gurjinder KumarDefender
15Anas EdathodikaDefender
8Arata IzumiMidfielder
11Douhou PierreMidfielder
14Karma TsewangMidfielder
23Mumtaz AkhtarMidfielder
15James MogaStriker
12Jeje LalpekhluaStriker
1Amrinder SinghGoalkeeper
13Zohmingliana RalteDefender
25Srikanth RamuDefender
7D. NishiguchiMidfielder
17Sukhwinder SinghMidfielder
11Khanthang PaiteMidfielder
10Singam Subash SinghStriker

From the web