thumbnail Hello,


  • 9 March 2014
  • • 17:00
  • • Tilak Maidan Stadium, Vasco da Gama, Goa

Salgaocar FC – Mumbai FC Preview: The Greens could go second

Salgaocar FC – Mumbai FC Preview: The Greens could go second

AIFF Media

Derrick Pereira's side could end up in second place should they beat Mumbai FC with a margin of two goals...

Salgaocar FC play host to Mumbai FC in an I-League round 20 encounter at the Tilak Maidan, Goa on Sunday evening.

The Greens, along with Shillong Lajong and Mohun Bagan are the only sides to have downed Mumbai FC twice this season.

They have hit top form at a crucial juncture as the league enters it business end.

Amongst the top four teams, namely Bengaluru FC, Pune FC, Sporting Clube de Goa and Salgaocar FC, Derrick Pereira’s side have to travel just once to face Pune FC in their last seven outings.

Compare that to Bengaluru FC’s five, Sporting Clube de Goa’s two and Pune FC’s three away matches in the last six games and it highlights that Salgaocar have an edge should they make the home advantage count.

Going into the game, they will be without the services of Nicolau Colaco who was injured in the last game against Shillong Lajong. Francis Fernandes got injured while on international duty and will sit out the game against Mumbai FC.

“Mumbai FC have reinforced their team with some new players. They have Sandesh Jhinghan, NP Pradeep, Ebi Sukore and Alfred Jaryan. In this league, it is tough as you have to be on your toes constantly and be focused. The team that does that consistently wins. All the teams are tough but God willing; we hope to continue our winning ways,” said Pereira.

Mumbai FC will look to add crucial points in their kitty as they want to stay away from the relegation battle. They have the experience of doing so successfully in the past but the level of competition in the league has certainly gone several notches higher this term.

“We have a full squad available against Salgaocar and getting points from this game is very important for us.

“We have a lot of away matches and we need to make them count,” said coach Khalid Jamil.

The club have been accused of indulging in time wasting techniques by Pune FC’s Mike Snoei. However the Mumbai FC club officials have chosen to ignore his comments stating that they wouldn’t want to him any importance whatsoever.

In all the matches they have lost this season, Mumbai FC have conceded first. On being asked to comment on the same, Jamil said,” There are instances that we have comeback from behind to draw a game like against United SC a couple of weeks back.”

Expect a tough game though Salgaocar start as favourites.

 How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.





Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 09-Mar-2014 Salgaocar F.C. 2 - Mumbai FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 18-Jan-2014 Mumbai FC 1 - Salgaocar F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 18-Oct-2013 Mumbai FC 1 - Salgaocar F.C. 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 23-Mar-2013 Salgaocar F.C. 1 - Mumbai FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 03-Nov-2012 Mumbai FC 0 - Salgaocar F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Karanjit SinghGoalkeeper
3Augustin FernandesDefender
4Chika WaliDefender
22Matthew FoschiniDefender
23Rahul KumarDefender
25Rocus LamareMidfielder
29Clifton DiasMidfielder
37Gilbert OliveiraMidfielder
43Bikash JairuMidfielder
7Darryl DuffyStriker
11Dudu OmagbemiStriker
21Felix D’SouzaGoalkeeper
15Caitano CostaDefender
34Brian MascarenhasMidfielder
36Rosario MendesDefender
42Freiman Mauricio PeixotoMidfielder
8Milagres GonsalvesDefender
9Marcus MasceranhasStriker
1Kunal SawantGoalkeeper
4Peter CostaDefender
5Anwar AliDefender
24Sandesh JhinganDefender
2Ahmad HatifieMidfielder
3Ebi SukoreMidfielder
7Nicholas RodriguesMidfielder
8Climax LawrenceMidfielder
22P. PradeepMidfielder
9Alfred JaryanStriker
33M. RafiStriker
13Nidhinlal A.C.Goalkeeper
25K. MeeteiDefender
6Ashutosh MehtaMidfielder
10Yusif YakubuStriker
20Jayesh RaneStriker
21Manuel D'SouzaMidfielder
38Rahul BhekeDefender

From the web