thumbnail Hello,


  • 1 December 2012
  • • 19:00
  • • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Fatorda Stadium), Margao, Goa

Salgaocar FC - Dempo SC Preview: Can David Booth break his winless streak?

Salgaocar FC - Dempo SC Preview: Can David Booth break his winless streak?

It's a strange sight for Salgaocar who are sitting among the bottom five teams in the I-League standings as they face a definite uphill task...


Nicolau, Augustin, Rahul, Collin;
Gilbert, Randeep, Jacobs, Rocus, Beevan;

Naik, Rowilson, Gawli, Roy;
Romeo, Carvalho, Climax, Nicolau;
Abranches, Sueoka

Salgaocar FC are yet to move into double figures, having earned just six points from eight matches in the I-League competition, while a win on Saturday will still keep them in the bottom half of the table.

The misery doesn't end here for David Booth as his side have so far managed just one win besides their three draws, and even worse being the team who has scored the least number of goals (six) among all the 14 teams participating in the league.

There's a lot of catching up to do for the Greens

Salgaocar's attacking problems just get serious with the uncertainty of Francis Fernandes to make it in the playing 11 against Dempo, while at the other end of the pitch, captain Luciano Sobrosa has also picked up an injury.

It thus suggests that the onus will remain of the rest of the pack to pull up their socks if they want to move into a respectable position on the table.

Armando Colaco wary of Salgaocar

Dempo SC might have suffered an away defeat to ONGC FC two rounds earlier, but following their thrashing of Mohun Bagan, Armando Colaco's side seem to be back to their best.

Injuries could be the only thing holding back the defending I-League champions from unleashing their full potential, but with ample and effective replacements in hand the task doesn't look all that distant.


Salgaocar FC: David Booth has confirmed that Luciano Sobrosa and Francis Fernandes have slight niggles and their inclusion could be decided only after a late fitness test, while Philippines striker Angel Guirado will remain unavailable as he is on national team duty at the AFF Suzuki Cup.

Dempo SC: Clifford Miranda and Anthony Pereira are doubtful to starters with Nicolau Borges and Romeo Fernandes likely to replace the duo on the left and right flanks respectively, while midfielder Climax Lawrence will return after serving his two-match ban.

  • Dempo SC has beaten Salgaocar FC seven times in the last 15 encounters between the two sides, with the former scoring as many as 24 goals.
  • David Booth has not won a single match with Salgaocar FC, after taking charge from Karim Bencherifa.
  • Dempo SC have a 100% record in their home matches of the I-League 2012-13 season so far.

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 19-Mar-2014 Dempo SC 0 - Salgaocar F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 09-Oct-2013 Salgaocar F.C. 1 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 12-May-2013 Dempo SC 2 - Salgaocar F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 01-Dec-2012 Salgaocar F.C. 1 - Dempo SC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 28-Sep-2012 Dempo SC 2 - Salgaocar F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Karanjit SinghGoalkeeper
3Augustin FernandesDefender
19Nicolau Colaco Defender
15Collin AbranchesDefender
15Anthony BarbosaMidfielder
28Quinton JacobsMidfielder
23Rahul KumarDefender
25Rocus LamareMidfielder
26Randeep SinghMidfielder
37Gilbert OliveiraMidfielder
7Sean RooneyMidfielder
22Vinay SinghGoalkeeper
23Thounaogam Dinesh SinghDefender
2Fulganco CardozoDefender
34Brian MascarenhasMidfielder
8Milagres GonsalvesDefender
13Beevan D'MelloMidfielder
32Md. Dada NabeelStriker
33Laxmikant KattimaniGoalkeeper
2Debabrata RoyDefender
16Samir NaikDefender
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
28Mahesh GawliDefender
6Peter CarvalhoMidfielder
7Godwin FrancoMidfielder
9Rohan RickettsMidfielder
19Romeo FernandesMidfielder
11Ryuji SueokaMidfielder
17Joaquim Abranches Striker
31Tyson CaiadoGoalkeeper
4Creson AntaoDefender
18Valeriano RebelloDefender
8Climax LawrenceMidfielder
12Nicolau BorgesMidfielder
27Joy FerraoStriker
29Clifton GonsalvesStriker

From the web