thumbnail Hello,


  • 22 December 2012
  • • 14:00
  • • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi

ONGC FC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Will the Oilmen thrive under their new manager?

ONGC FC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Will the Oilmen thrive under their new manager?

The I-League's bottom-placed side are under a new manager in Santosh Kashyap who will face a stern test when Desmond Bulpin's Lajong come to town....



Minz, Gurung, Odeola, Gawas;
Brown, Sangha, Katsumi, Joel;
Lalrinuamana, Keniston

Subash, Govin, Son, Mawia;
Renedy, Chitrasen,Lyngdoh, Jibon;
Friday, Sushil


ONGC FC's last game against Salgaocar proved to be Subrata Bhattacharya's final game in charge of the Oilmen. The Mumbai-based side prop up the I-League table and don't look anywhere close to moving from there.

Former Mohun Bagan and Air India coach Santosh Kashyap was handed the reins of the beleagured side and charged with the task of leading the team out of the relegation zone. Kashyap's first game in charge will be against a well-organized and disciplined Shillong Lajong under the tutelage of the wily Desmond Bulpin who are not easy to beat. If Kashyap is hoping to guide the team through troubled waters, he has to ensure that they take whatever chances that come their way.

Desmond Bulpin would have been counting his lucky stars as his team came away from Pune with a 1-1 draw against Air India thanks to a late Boithang Haokip equaliser. It was hardly a convincing performance from a side that had given the likes of Dempo, Prayag United and East Bengal a run for their money.

The North-Eastern side will be looking for an improvement when they travel to Delhi to face an ONGC team who are undergoing a transition under new manager Santosh Kashyap. This will be the ideal opportunity for Bulpin's men to take advantage of any uncertainty in the ONGC ranks and to improve their away record.


ONGC FC– This being Kashyap's first game in-charge of the Oilmen, it will be interesting to see the new tactics and any personnel changes that come with it.

Shillong Lajong FC – Desmond Bulpin is likely to give Boithang Haokip a start over Jibon Singh who had a poor game against Air India. The rest of the team will in all probabilities remain the same.

  • The two sides have only met twice in the I-League with the team from the North-East picking up wins on both occasions.
  • ONGC FC have conceded twice the number of goals that Shillong Lajong have scored in the I-League (13). Only Sporting Clube de Goa (27) have conceded more goals than the Oilmen.
  • Shillong Lajong's captain Renedy Singh was part of the Indian side that won the Nehru Cup in 2007 and the AFC Challenge Cup in 2008.

How do you stay up to date with football when on the move? With – your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 07-Apr-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 1 - ONGC F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 22-Dec-2012 ONGC F.C. 3 - Shillong Lajong FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - I-League Division 2 ‎(IND2)‎ 04-Apr-2009 ONGC F.C. 0 - Shillong Lajong FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - I-League Division 2 ‎(IND2)‎ 09-Mar-2009 Shillong Lajong FC 2 - ONGC F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
30Rehnesh T.P.Goalkeeper
18Robin GurungDefender
21Bimal MinzDefender
29Hassan OdeolaDefender
10Eric BrownMidfielder
8Sachin GawasDefender
10Katsumi YusaMidfielder
4Sandeep SanghaDefender
17David LalrinuamanaMidfielder
25Kunal GhoshStriker
27Keniston CMidfielder
30Bilifang NarzaryGoalkeeper
22Lalu KVDefender
9Jatin BishtMidfielder
13Kailash PatilStriker
14Joel SequeiraMidfielder
18Fanai LalmuanpuiaMidfielder
24Surabuddin MollickMidfielder
1Lalthuammawia RalteGoalkeeper
2Govin SinghDefender
17Jibon SinghDefender
6Minchol SonDefender
23Lalchhuan MawiaDefender
25Subhash SinghDefender
6Renedy SinghMidfielder
9Chitrasen SinghMidfielder
10Eugeneson LyngdohMidfielder
16Sushil SinghStriker
22Friday GbenemeStriker
24M. Basanta SinghMidfielder
3Wailadmi PassahDefender
12C LallawmzualaDefender
28Samuel ShadapDefender
29TH.Bipin SinghMidfielder
13Boithang HaokipDefender
26Jacob LalrawngbawlaMidfielder

From the web