thumbnail Hello,


  • 20 April 2013
  • • 16:00
  • • Dr. Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi

ONGC FC - Mumbai FC Preview: Can the Oilmen give their home fans something to cheer?

ONGC FC - Mumbai FC Preview: Can the Oilmen give their home fans something to cheer?


Santosh Kashyap's side will take on Khalid Jamil's Mumbai FC in what might prove to be their last ever I-League clash at home.....


Parvinder, Wahid, Odeola, Gawas;
 Bisht, Mollick, Katsumi;
Lalrinuamana, Kunal

Costa, Yadav, Stephen, Faizal;
Ashutosh, Jayesh,Darren,Nicolas;
Yakubu, Opara

ONGC's run under Santosh Kashyap has been remarkable to say the least. The Oilmen were in shambles under Subrata Bhattacharya and when Kashyap took over he had a task of ensuring that the team remained in the top flight. And didn't he do just that!

With seven wins, five draws and two losses, the former Mohun Bagan coach has led the public sector club to mid table safety. It seems almost cruel to see such a team being banned from the I-League next year for failing to meet the norm of privatising the club. But it is something that has to be taken into the stride by the team and the management.

After Pune FC did the double over ONGC last week, the Oilmen now face a Mumbai FC side who are just as difficult to beat as themselves. What would play in Kashyap's favour is the fact that the Mumbaikars are winless in their last two games and low on morale. 

With injuries plaguing his team, Kashyap will have to make do with what he has in the final two games of the season. Considering that their fate is sealed with regards to participation for the next season, the team from Delhi will go all out to ensure that their fans have something to cheer about.

Having rescued the team from relegation, Khalid Jamil will need to make sure that his team does not end the I-League campaign of 2012-13 on a losing note. The Mumbai team have lost their last two games against Mohun Bagan and Shillong Lajong FC.

A team which has a reputation of being physical and hard to break down will need to pull up their socks when they go up against ONGC FC at Delhi. The feeling of ending the campaign on a winning note is unparalleled which is exactly what Jamil will look to obtain as he has proved to be a master of gaining favourable results with limited resources.


ONGC FC: Santosh Kashyap will not be able to avail the services of Robin Gurung, Keniston, Bimal Minz and Sandeep Sanga as they are all out to injury. Kunal Ghosh may replace Sandeep in the final XI. Midfielder Eric Brown will miss the game due to suspension.

Mumbai FC: Khalid Jamil will be without the services of Haroon Amiri, Subhash Chakraborty and Gabriel Fernandes who are injured and haven't travelled with the squad.

  • Ahead of the defeat to Pune FC, ONGC were undefeated in nine games at the Ambedkar Stadium in New Delhi. 
  • Mumbai FC are unbeaten in their last three encounters against ONGC FC.
  • ONGC have have won 5 of their 12 games played at home while Mumbai FC have won just one in their 11 games on the road.

Follow Srinivasan Mohan on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 20-Apr-2013 ONGC F.C. 1 - Mumbai FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 28-Nov-2012 Mumbai FC 1 - ONGC F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 30-May-2011 ONGC F.C. 2 - Mumbai FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 22-Jan-2011 Mumbai FC 1 - ONGC F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
30Rehnesh T.P.Goalkeeper
18Robin GurungDefender
29Hassan OdeolaDefender
28Wahid SaliDefender
4Parwinder SinghDefender
10Katsumi YusaMidfielder
9Jatin BishtMidfielder
13Kailash PatilStriker
8Sachin GawasDefender
17David LalrinuamanaMidfielder
19M. AliStriker
1Prasanjit GhoshGoalkeeper
22Lalu KVDefender
7A. NareshDefender
4Sandeep SanghaDefender
18Fanai LalmuanpuiaMidfielder
24Surabuddin MollickMidfielder
25Kunal GhoshStriker
1Kunal SawantGoalkeeper
4Peter CostaDefender
16Justine StephenDefender
17Kamaljeet KumarDefender
24Evans QuaoDefender
36Ritesh PerambraDefender
7Nicholas RodriguesMidfielder
15James SinghMidfielder
29John CoutinhoMidfielder
9Abhishek YadavStriker
10Yusif YakubuStriker
29Sharath KuniyilGoalkeeper
3William ColacoDefender
6Ashutosh MehtaMidfielder
-Malsawmkima ChhangteMidfielder
12S Kuttymani Midfielder
20Jayesh RaneStriker
21Manuel D'SouzaMidfielder

From the web