thumbnail Hello,


  • 16 November 2012
  • • 14:30
  • • Dr. Ambedkar Stadium, New Delhi

ONGC FC - Dempo SC Preview: A battle of two sides at the opposite ends of a spectrum

ONGC FC - Dempo SC Preview: A battle of two sides at the opposite ends of a spectrum

League leaders Dempo SC meet rock-bottom side ONGC FC in the sixth round of the I-League on Friday...


Prasanjit Ghosh;
Minz, Gurung, Odeola, Gawas;
Bisht, Brown, Sangha, Katsumi;
Eke, Kunal Ghosh

Valeriano, Rowilson, Cresson, Roy;
Anthony, Carvalho, Climax, Miranda;
Clifton, Sueoka

The home side's second point came in the fifth round of the I-League in which they held Mohun Bagan to a goalless stalemate, while the first was from a 1-1 against Prayag United. Besides these results, ONGC FC has suffered defeats at the hands of Pune FC, Churchill Brothers SC and Air India.

With just two points from five matches, ONGC is languishing at the bottom of the I-League table with fellow Mumbai-based clubs Air India and Mumbai FC as a win is all that Subrata Bhattacharya will be looking for as they lock horns with Dempo SC on Friday.

ONGC FC have to work together as a unit

The Oilmen will have to get their scoring boots on sooner than later, while the club's defense will have to work equally hard to keep the momentum running in the right direction for the side who are among the least scoring and have already conceded goals in double figures.

There have only been only a few virtuoso moments of brilliance by ONGC by defender Hassan Odeola and Japanese medio Yusa Katsumi. The rest of the squad, especially the strikers do need to up their ante sooner than later.

Ryuji Sueoka has been the work-horse for Dempo

Dempo SC's perfect start was almost hampered by East Bengal in a match that ended all square, following which the Goan side outscored Shillong Lajong FC 4-1 in their last encounter.

Armando Colaco will however have to worry about injuries to players in each departments while trying to carry forward the same kind of balance that the club has managed to maintain in terms of results so far.


ONGC FC: Subrata Bhattacharya has confirmed of a full strength team and might not look to make too many changes from the side that held Mohun Bagan to a goalless draw.

Dempo SC: Koko Sakibo is on a long lay-off having sustained an injury to two of his ribs. Mahesh Gawli and Joaquim Abranches are also injured, while Rohan Ricketts is reportedly suffering from food poisoning.

  • The last time ONGC FC have won at home in the I-League was on 17 August 2011 when they beat JCT FC (now disbanded) 2-1.
  • ONGC FC have never beaten Dempo SC in any major competition till date.
  • Among the teams who have scored maximum number of goals so far, Dempo SC (14) is second best only to Prayag United SC (20).

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 27-Jan-2013 Dempo SC 1 - ONGC F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 16-Nov-2012 ONGC F.C. 3 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 05-Mar-2011 ONGC F.C. 0 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 04-Jan-2011 Dempo SC 2 - ONGC F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 21-Sep-2010 Dempo SC 5 - ONGC F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Prasanjit GhoshGoalkeeper
18Robin GurungDefender
21Bimal MinzDefender
29Hassan OdeolaDefender
10Eric BrownMidfielder
8Sachin GawasDefender
9Jatin BishtMidfielder
10Katsumi YusaMidfielder
4Sandeep SanghaDefender
13Kailash PatilStriker
24Surabuddin MollickMidfielder
30Rehnesh T.P.Goalkeeper
7A. NareshDefender
14Joel SequeiraMidfielder
19Dhanesh M.C.Midfielder
34Rajib BoroMidfielder
25Kunal GhoshStriker
27Keniston CMidfielder
1Subhasish Roy ChowdhuryGoalkeeper
4Creson AntaoDefender
2Debabrata RoyDefender
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
18Valeriano RebelloDefender
23Anthony PereiraMidfielder
15Clifford MirandaMidfielder
8Climax LawrenceMidfielder
6Peter CarvalhoMidfielder
19Romeo FernandesMidfielder
11Ryuji SueokaMidfielder
31Tyson CaiadoGoalkeeper
25Selwyn FernandesDefender
16Samir NaikDefender
37Shallum PiresDefender
7Godwin FrancoMidfielder
29Clifton GonsalvesStriker
27Joy FerraoStriker

From the web