thumbnail Hello,


  • 17 November 2012
  • • 15:00
  • • Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex, Pune, Mahārāṣṭra

Mumbai FC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Can the Mumbaikars build on their last win?

Mumbai FC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Can the Mumbaikars build on their last win?


The two teams are coming into the round six of the I-League with contrasting results in their previous matches...


Rehman, Stephen, Amiri, Stephen, Mehta;
ChakrabortyQuao, James, Nicholas;
Gabriel, Yakubu


Subhash, Govin, Lalrinzuala, Passah;
Lyngdoh, Hmar, Samson, Jibon;
Sushil Singh, Gbeneme

Mumbai FC garnered their first points on the board after defeating Sporting Clube de Goa 3-2 in their last match, that too after going down by two early goals in the first half.

The Mumbai-based side had close matches in which they went down by a similar margin of 3-2 against Pailan Arrows and Pune FC at the start of their league campaign, the only exception remains being outclassed 3-1 by Churchill Brothers SC in Goa.

Khalid Jamil did well to motivate his boys to not lose concentration and inspired them to make a comeback to win 3-2 against Sporting and their confidence shall certainly be boosted going into Saturday's clash against Lajong.

MFC's top scorer ND Okpara has scored five goals

Mumbai FC do not have the best scoring rate in the competition while the number of goals conceded has already hit the double figure mark, which is certainly a warning sign for Jamil.

Their opponents, Shillong Lajong FC will be playing their second away match of the season after coming from a 4-1 defeat at the hands of defending I-League champions Dempo SC. The scoreline however didn't suggest the entire story of the match as Lajong notably had the better of the chances.

Sushil Singh has been the live wire for Lajong

Desmond Bulpin's choice has been crippled coming into the match against Mumbai FC on Saturday as some his star players like Minchol Son and Ebi Sukore will not be available for the tie.

Boithang Haokip, who has also picked a shoulder injury, might start on the bench, while 18 year old center back Lalrinzuala Khiangte of the Shillong Lajong FC Academy might start along with Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Samson Ramengmawia.


Mumbai FC: With no injury worries, Khalid Jamil is expected to make no changes to his side that beat Sporting Clube de Goa, with on-loan keeper Luis Barreto likely to bag his second start of the season.

Shillong Lajong FC: The North-eastern side's defense will have to be vary without star defender Minchol Son, who is injured. Ebi Sukore isn't fit to face his former side while Boithang Haokip is likely to start on the bench due to a shoulder injury.

  • Mumbai FC and Shillong Lajong FC have scored an equal number of goals (8) so far, but the former have conceded three more (12) than the latter (9).
  • In the 2011-12 season of the I-League, both the teams have won their home matches against the other with a similar margin of 2-1.
  • Although Lajong FC was formed in 1983, the Reds participated in the I-League second division only in the year 2009.

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 30-Mar-2014 Shillong Lajong FC 1 - Mumbai FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 21-Jan-2014 Shillong Lajong FC 4 - Mumbai FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 23-Oct-2013 Mumbai FC 2 - Shillong Lajong FC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 14-Apr-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 2 - Mumbai FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 17-Nov-2012 Mumbai FC 4 - Shillong Lajong FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
31Luis BarretoGoalkeeper
16Justine StephenDefender
3Haroon FakhruddinDefender
-Faizal RehmanDefender
24Evans QuaoDefender
6Ashutosh MehtaMidfielder
7Nicholas RodriguesMidfielder
15James SinghMidfielder
11Subhash ChakrabortyMidfielder
10Yusif YakubuStriker
30Gabriel FernandesMidfielder
29Sharath KuniyilGoalkeeper
4Peter CostaDefender
17Kamaljeet KumarDefender
15Darren CaldeiraMidfielder
9Abhishek YadavStriker
20Jayesh RaneStriker
28ND OparaStriker
1Lalthuammawia RalteGoalkeeper
3Wailadmi PassahDefender
17Jibon SinghDefender
23Lalchhuan MawiaDefender
25Subhash SinghDefender
30Lalrinzuala KhiangteDefender
7Lalramluaha HmarMidfielder
20Samson RamengmawiaMidfielder
10Eugeneson LyngdohMidfielder
16Sushil SinghStriker
22Friday GbenemeStriker
24M. Basanta SinghMidfielder
28Samuel ShadapDefender
29TH.Bipin SinghMidfielder
13Boithang HaokipDefender
26Jacob LalrawngbawlaMidfielder
11P.C. LalhlimtharaStriker

From the web