thumbnail Hello,


  • 9 February 2013
  • • 19:00
  • • Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex, Pune, Mahārāṣṭra

Mumbai FC - Pune FC Preview: Pereira's side looking to put an end to the Balewadi 'ghost'

Mumbai FC - Pune FC Preview: Pereira's side looking to put an end to the Balewadi 'ghost'

Pune Football Club

The stage will be set for the Maharashtra derby between Mumbai FC and Pune FC as both teams will be looking to spring back to winning ways...



Stephene, Amiri, Yadav, Quao;
Chakraborty, Gabriel, MehtaMehta, Nicholas;
Yakubu, Opara

Tabia, Edathodika, Chika, Costa;
Karma, Pierre, Izumi, Paite;
Subhash, Moga


Mumbai FC’s mid-season rally saw them move from the bottom of the standings to fifth place after Round 12. But following that, in their next six games, the Mumbai team have managed only one win, drawing their last two league games, and their momentum somewhat halted.

Similarly, with progress stalled for the past three rounds, Pune FC’s aim would be to shrug off their winless phase they’ve had at Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex since round 12.

With most of the coaches voicing their concerns over Khalid Jamil's side's time-wasting theatrics, there will be extra pressure on the referee to take note of the same.

Can Mumbai FC win the return leg of the 'Maha derby?'

Pune FC, likewise, had a nine-match unbeaten run (included seven wins), but ever since Round 15 they have only managed a point against Sporting Clube de Goa at home.

While the Red Lizards have struggled at home, the one-factor that swings in their favour is the superior record they hold in these ‘Maha Derbies’. So far Pune FC have won three and drawn three out of the eight played.

PFC have always done well to hold their fort whenever this fixture has been played in Pune, with back-to-back wins in the last two fixtures at Balewadi (where Pune FC have managed to score thrice on both occasions), preceded by three draws.

Preview Courtesy: Pune FC


Mumbai FC: Mumbai FC will miss the services of James Singh due to suspension after the midfielder picked up a red card in Mumbai FC's draw against Dempo SC, while another midfielder Ashutosh Mehta will return from his suspension.

Pune FC: Pune FC have decided to drop midfielder-striker Daisuke Nishiguchi from their 18, while medios Nikhil Kadam and Velington Rocha have been incorporated for the two slots that open in the 18-member squad. Gurjinder Kumar will miss the tie as the left back saw a red card against Salgaocar FC in the last game.


  • Both Mumbai FC and Pune FC have scored 14 goals in their home games, but the former have conceded half as many (7) as compared to the latter (14).
  • Mumbai FC's Abhishek Yadav was part of the national side as a striker but lately has been plying his trade as a center-back for his club.
  • Although Pune FC has played a game less (17), the Red Lizards have garnered two wins in surplus to Mumbai FC's seven victories.


Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 01-Mar-2014 Mumbai FC 0 - Pune FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 07-Dec-2013 Pune FC 1 - Mumbai FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 09-Feb-2013 Mumbai FC 0 - Pune FC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 11-Oct-2012 Pune FC 3 - Mumbai FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 18-Jan-2012 Pune FC 3 - Mumbai FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
31Luis BarretoGoalkeeper
16Justine StephenDefender
3Haroon FakhruddinDefender
6Ashutosh MehtaMidfielder
7Nicholas RodriguesMidfielder
11Subhash ChakrabortyMidfielder
-Malsawmkima ChhangteMidfielder
9Abhishek YadavStriker
10Yusif YakubuStriker
30Gabriel FernandesMidfielder
28ND OparaStriker
29Sharath KuniyilGoalkeeper
3William ColacoDefender
17Kamaljeet KumarDefender
-Faizal RehmanDefender
24Evans QuaoDefender
12S Kuttymani Midfielder
20Jayesh RaneStriker
27Shahinlal MelolyGoalkeeper
15Caitano CostaDefender
4Chika WaliDefender
15Anas EdathodikaDefender
25Srikanth RamuDefender
-Nallappan MohanrajDefender
8Arata IzumiMidfielder
11Douhou PierreMidfielder
11Khanthang PaiteMidfielder
15James MogaStriker
12Jeje LalpekhluaStriker
1Amrinder SinghGoalkeeper
2Othallo TabiaDefender
14Karma TsewangMidfielder
16Velington RochaMidfielder
19Nikhil KadamMidfielder
23Mumtaz AkhtarMidfielder
10Singam Subash SinghStriker

From the web