thumbnail Hello,


  • 3 November 2012
  • • 14:00
  • • Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium), Kalkātā (Kolkata), West Bengal

East Bengal - Dempo SC Preview: Can the Goans overturn their Salt Lake record against the Red and Gold?

East Bengal - Dempo SC Preview: Can the Goans overturn their Salt Lake record against the Red and Gold?

AIFF Media

Trevor Morgan's side boast of an impressive home record over the defending I-League champions as they prepare for a round four face-off...


Arnab, Gurwinder, Okpara, Dey;
Khabra, Hussain, Orji, Ishfaq;
Chidi, Manandeep

Valeriano, Gawli, Cresson, Roy;
Anthony, Carvalho, Ricketts, Miranda;
Sakibo, Sueoka

East Bengal might have not had the best of starts in the I-League although they have garnered two wins in three matches, the last coming against Pune FC before getting the better of United Sikkim FC, while they were held to a goalless stalemate in their first match against Sporting Clube de Goa.

Trevor Morgan's biggest concern will be his attack as they have not been up to the mark given that they have only notched two goals so far.

East Bengal have not conceded in the I-League

The Kolkata outfit's defensive record has however looked solid given that they are yet to concede a goal in the league this term, something that Dempo SC will look to overcome.

The defending I-League champions, on the other side, have enjoyed one of the best of starts to their campaign, gathering significant victories over United Sikkim, Sporting Clube de Goa and Churchill Brothers. The Goan side have stuttered against the Kolkata outfit often and they would be keen to get one over their fellow title rivals.

Dempo SC have a perfect record

Armando Colaco would not like to disturb his side's winning combination while continuing to play former Arsenal and Tottenham player Rohan Ricketts in a withdrawn position, sporting a strike-pair of Ryuji Sueoka and Koko Sakibo.


East Bengal: The Red and Gold will have their full strength squad apart from missing the services of their goalkeeper Abhijit Mondal who was injured in the previous match against Pune FC.

Dempo SC: Armando Colaco has no injury worries as he will try to field his best possible 11 to face the side that defeated them in the 2012 Federation Cup final.

  • East Bengal are the only side not to concede a single goal after three rounds of the I-League 2012-13, but are also among the lowest scoring.
  • Dempo meanwhile are the only side to pick nine points from their three league matches, while the defending champions are also the joint-highest scorers with nine goals alongside Churchill Brothers.
  • East Bengal have won eight of the 10 encounters with Dempo SC in matches played between the two sides at the Salt Lake stadium in Kolkata.

 Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 23-Feb-2014 Dempo SC 1 - East Bengal F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 17-Oct-2013 East Bengal F.C. 1 - Dempo SC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 04-May-2013 Dempo SC 2 - East Bengal F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 03-Nov-2012 East Bengal F.C. 1 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 30-Sep-2012 East Bengal F.C. 3 - Dempo SC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
30Gurpreet Singh SandhuGoalkeeper
3Arnab MondalDefender
4Uga OkparaDefender
8Thokchom Naoba SinghDefender
29Saumik DeyDefender
7Harmanjot KhabraMidfielder
14Mehtab HossainMidfielder
8Penn OrjiMidfielder
10Edeh ChidiStriker
36Manandeep SinghStriker
27Ishfaq AhmedStriker
36Jayanta PaulGoalkeeper
16Gurwinder SinghDefender
19Robert LalthlamuanaDefender
15Sanju PradhanMidfielder
20Lalrindika RalteMidfielder
9Robin SinghStriker
24Cavin LoboMidfielder
1Subhasish Roy ChowdhuryGoalkeeper
2Debabrata RoyDefender
4Creson AntaoDefender
18Valeriano RebelloDefender
28Mahesh GawliDefender
6Peter CarvalhoMidfielder
8Climax LawrenceMidfielder
23Anthony PereiraMidfielder
15Clifford MirandaMidfielder
11Ryuji SueokaMidfielder
11Koko SakiboStriker
33Laxmikant KattimaniGoalkeeper
16Samir NaikDefender
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
7Godwin FrancoMidfielder
9Rohan RickettsMidfielder
19Romeo FernandesMidfielder
17Joaquim Abranches Striker

From the web