thumbnail Hello,


  • 10 November 2012
  • • 18:00
  • • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Fatorda Stadium), Margao, Goa

Dempo SC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Will the Goan side's unbeaten streak end?

Dempo SC - Shillong Lajong FC Preview: Will the Goan side's unbeaten streak end?


Having ended the unbeaten run of Prayag, Desmond Bulpin's men will look to repeat that feat against Dempo in the club's first away game of the season...


Valeriano, Samir, Cresson, Roy;
Anthony, Carvalho, Climax, Miranda;
Abranches, Sueoka

Shadap, Minchol, Mawaiah, Passah
Boithang, Lalramluaha, Sukore, Lyngdoh
Sushil Singh, Gbeneme

Dempo will be wary of the threat of Shillong after they claimed two big wins against Mohun Bagan and Prayag United. Shillong's win over Prayag in the previous round ended their unbeaten streak and with Dempo also enjoying a similar run, the north eastern side will look put an end to their bright start.

Dempo still unbeaten in the league

The Goan side were saved through a late goal against East Bengal in the previous round as they just about managed to escape a defeat. It must be noted that Dempo SC have always been a difficult to beat in Goa as their record suggests.

On the other hand, Shillong will be playing their first away match after four consecutive home games. Although they've taken good advantage at home, picking up 7 points from a possible 12, getting results on the road isn't one of their forte. A win for them would see them draw level with Dempo, so that should be an added incentive for them.
Lajong playing their first away game

With Dempo being one of the top scoring sides in the league, it will be a tough task for Lajong to achieve a positive result. However it would be foolish to rule them out.


Dempo SC: Koko Sakibo is set to be on the sidelines for about three months after suffering a rib injury. So Joaquim Abranches could partner Ryuji Sueoka upfront. Also, Mahesh Gawli may not start the match.

Shillong Lajong: Lajong have to contend with injuries to Renedy Singh, Seikhohao Tuboi, Govin Singh, Chitra and Rollingson. Although it must be noted that only Renedy Singh has started the last two games for Lajong.

  • Dempo SC have won all their top flight clashes with Lajong FC (four out of four).
  • Armando Colaco also serves as the club secretary of Dempo Sports Club apart from being the head coach of the senior team.
  • After Friday's I-League round five matches, Dempo SC and East Bengal remain the only two unbeaten sides in the competition.

 Follow John Vaz on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 21-Dec-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 2 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 22-Sep-2013 Dempo SC 0 - Shillong Lajong FC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 13-Jan-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 0 - Dempo SC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 10-Nov-2012 Dempo SC 4 - Shillong Lajong FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 21-Sep-2012 Dempo SC 1 - Shillong Lajong FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Subhasish Roy ChowdhuryGoalkeeper
2Debabrata RoyDefender
4Creson AntaoDefender
18Valeriano RebelloDefender
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
6Peter CarvalhoMidfielder
8Climax LawrenceMidfielder
23Anthony PereiraMidfielder
15Clifford MirandaMidfielder
11Ryuji SueokaMidfielder
17Joaquim Abranches Striker
31Tyson CaiadoGoalkeeper
25Selwyn FernandesDefender
16Samir NaikDefender
7Godwin FrancoMidfielder
9Rohan RickettsMidfielder
19Romeo FernandesMidfielder
29Clifton GonsalvesStriker
1Lalthuammawia RalteGoalkeeper
3Wailadmi PassahDefender
17Jibon SinghDefender
6Minchol SonDefender
23Lalchhuan MawiaDefender
25Subhash SinghDefender
7Lalramluaha HmarMidfielder
13Boithang HaokipDefender
3Ebi SukoreMidfielder
16Sushil SinghStriker
22Friday GbenemeStriker
24M. Basanta SinghMidfielder
28Samuel ShadapDefender
20Samson RamengmawiaMidfielder
30Lalrinzuala KhiangteDefender
10Eugeneson LyngdohMidfielder
26Jacob LalrawngbawlaMidfielder
11P.C. LalhlimtharaStriker

From the web