thumbnail Hello,


  • 24 November 2012
  • • 17:30
  • • Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Fatorda Stadium), Margao, Goa

Dempo SC - Air India Preview: The champions look to return to winning ways

Dempo SC - Air India Preview: The champions look to return to winning ways

The Goan side will look to get their title charge back on track when the basement side Air India roll into town...



Valeriano, Gawli, Cresson, Roy;
Romeo, Anthony, Carvalho, Miranda;
Abranches, Sueoka


Jagroop Singh
Baldip, Rahul, Prem Kumar, Gagandeep
Vijith,Thorat,Souvik,M.Fernandes, Pradeep


Dempo SC have seen their unbeaten streak snapped by then bottom side ONGC FC. The result also saw them relinquish the top spot to East Bengal. They once again come across a team languishing at the bottom of the table in the form of Air India and would have learnt their lesson the hard way from the previous matchday and hence would be smart by not taking the Mumbai-based side lightly.

Having yet to lose a game at home this term, Armando Colaco's men will be confident of pulling off a win against a side that has conceded 13 goals in 5 games.

Sueoka makes the champions tick

Although Dempo still do have some injury concerns, the return of Rohan Ricketts to the squad should provide some boost to the attack. The debate suspension of Climax Lawrence will certainly cripple the Goan side.

1 win in five games for the Airmen sees them propping up the table, albeit with a game in hand over teams above them. One of the chief reasons for this could be their profligacy in front of goal, having netted the joint-fewest amount of goals in the league alongside Salgaocar FC and United Sikkim.

Air India will have to score more

With their sixth round match against Pune FC called off, Godfrey Pereira's men will be in prime shape to face the champions, although the record of having won just two I-League matches against Dempo overall may not bode well for the side. Also they may face the backlash of a wounded Dempo, which could prove telling for them.


Dempo SC: With Climax Lawrence suspended, Koko Sakibo injured, Dempo's options are certainly crippled. However they will be buoyed to know of the return of Mahesh Gawli at the back and Joaquim Abranches upfront.

Air India: With their last league match called off, Godfrey Pereira's men have been afforded a rest, which also means that he will have a fresher squad to pick from.

  • Dempo's 14-0 thrashing of Air India in the 2010-11 season is the biggest victory margin in the I-League till date.
  • Dempo SC have managed just one clean sheet in the I-League this season
  • Rohan Ricketts, the former Arsenal and Tottenham player, finds himself on the bench often than in the starting XI of an Indian club!

Follow John Vaz on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 10-Feb-2013 Air India F.C. 2 - Dempo SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 24-Nov-2012 Dempo SC 1 - Air India F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 18-Jan-2012 Air India F.C. 1 - Dempo SC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 18-Dec-2011 Dempo SC 0 - Air India F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 30-May-2011 Dempo SC 14 - Air India F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
31Tyson CaiadoGoalkeeper
2Debabrata RoyDefender
4Creson AntaoDefender
16Samir NaikDefender
28Mahesh GawliDefender
6Peter CarvalhoMidfielder
7Godwin FrancoMidfielder
23Anthony PereiraMidfielder
15Clifford MirandaMidfielder
11Ryuji SueokaMidfielder
17Joaquim Abranches Striker
33Laxmikant KattimaniGoalkeeper
18Valeriano RebelloDefender
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
9Rohan RickettsMidfielder
19Romeo FernandesMidfielder
23Aniston FernandesMidfielder
29Clifton GonsalvesStriker
1Sukhwinder SinghGoalkeeper
18Gagandeep SinghDefender
5Baldip SinghDefender
29V. Prem KumarDefender
14Souvik ChakrabartyDefender
8Micky FernandesMidfielder
18Vijith ShettyMidfielder
-Pradeep MohanrajMidfielder
10Elijah Obagbemiro JuniorStriker
14Henry EzehStriker
38Rahul BhekeDefender
33Jagroop SinghGoalkeeper
4Ramandeep SinghDefender
32Bhushan ThubeDefender
13Ong Teshering LepchaMidfielder
15Johny Chand SinghMidfielder
19Hringsolal ThomteMidfielder
7Soccor VelhoStriker

From the web