thumbnail Hello,


  • 22 September 2013
  • • 16:00
  • • Bangalore Football Stadium, Bangalore

Can Bengaluru spring a surprise over the traditional heavyweights?

Bengaluru FC - Mohun Bagan Preview: I-League fledglings to take on the oldest club

Can Bengaluru spring a surprise over the traditional heavyweights?

Sarthak Dubey/Goal

Ashley Westwood's side couldn't have asked for a tougher start to their league campaign though the absence of Bagan skipper Odafa Okolie will help...

Thanks to All India Football Federation’s (AIFF) initiative to bring in more investors into the game, the city of Bangalore has got an I-League club which has a guaranteed stay in the top division for the next three seasons.

Named Bengaluru FC, the team has gone about their business in the transfer market smartly. Having managed to attract the likes of Sunil Chhetri and Robin Singh, it was a statement of intent from the owners of the club that they mean business.

The team is expected to line-up in a 4-3-1-2 formation with Johnny Menyongar playing in the hole behind the two strikers. His will be a key role which is link the midfield with the attack and thereby provide the through balls for the strikers to feed on.

"We are just looking to form the perfect base and platform needed for the team. As I said before, we have no set targets for the season. We are trying to build a nice team spirit here. Our aim is to put a platform in place to improve, put good work ethics down, put some general football education in place and work and grow as a team,” said coach Ashley Westwood on his season’s target.

The club has roped in several youngsters who failed to make the cut at their previous teams and it would be an opportunity for them to prove their mettle. The likes of Thoi Singh, Malemngamba Meetei and Lalrozama Fanai would hope to get their careers in the right direction after having endured a not so good season last term.

Sean Rooney, who was asked to pack his bags midway through the last season by Salgaocar FC after being roped in by the now Mohun Bagan coach Karim Bencherifa, will be keen to make a mark as well.

On the other hand, Mohun Bagan have been crippled with their star striker Odafa Okolie recuperating from an injury. Anthony Pereira has been left out of the squad after the player refused to accept a wage cut mooted b y certain section of club officials.

Coach Karim Bencherifa will hope for a positive start to his campaign after all the negativity surrounding the side, on and off the field, last season following the infamous derby episode.

While the club’s officials and fans want their side to aim for the league title, they haven’t done enough in the summer to strengthen the squad. Instead they are planning to release Anthony Pereira off their roster which could cripple Bencherifa’s team further.

Their key player of the season will be Katsumi Yusa and Bengaluru defensive pairing of Curtis Osano and John Johnson will need to keep an eye on the Japanese who is deadly from set-pieces as well. Eric Muranda will hope to win over the Bagan faithful by putting in a commendable performance in the absence of Odafa.

“We want to win the opening game," was the short but important message relayed by Bencherifa on the eve of the tie.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 06-Apr-2014 Mohun Bagan A.C. 0 - Bengaluru FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 22-Sep-2013 Bengaluru FC 1 - Mohun Bagan A.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Pawan KumarGoalkeeper
4Curtis OsanoDefender
6John JohnsonDefender
20Keegan PereiraDefender
3R.Vishal KumarDefender
10John MenyongarMidfielder
19S.Siam HanghalMidfielder
18Beikhokhei BeingaichhoMidfielder
7Sean RooneyMidfielder
12T. SinghMidfielder
8Malemngamba MeeteiMidfielder
22Bruno ColacoGoalkeeper
23Lalrozama FanaiDefender
2N.S. ManjuDefender
13Rino AntoDefender
25Niroshan ManiMidfielder
9Robin SinghStriker
11Sunil ChhetriStriker
42Sandip NandyGoalkeeper
2Aibor KhongjeeDefender
10Katsumi YusaMidfielder
8Adil Ahmed KhanMidfielder
15C S SabeethStriker
4Echezona AnyichieDefender
11Harrison MurandaStriker
3Ravinder SinghDefender
28Wahid SaliDefender
7Denson DevadasMidfielder
33Zakeer MundamparaMidfielder
22Shilton PaulGoalkeeper
6Kingkshuk DebnathDefender
17Ram MalikMidfielder
12Nicolau BorgesMidfielder
5Rowilson RodriguesDefender
21Rajib GhoruiMidfielder
24Shankar OraonStriker

From the web