Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
May 12, 2013 4:30 PM IST
Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex — Pune, Mahārāṣṭra
Referee:‬ V. Chauhan‎
Jaison Vales 89′
H. Antchouet 90+3′

Air India - Churchill Brothers Preview: Only pride at play when the Champions face the relegated Airmen

In what is a meaningless tie, Air India host Champions Churchill Bros. and being already relegated and can only play for bragging rights...

By Kaustav Bera

Churchill Brothers celebrating their I-League title
Anselm Noronha/GOAL


  Sukhwinder;Baldip, Bheke, Gagandeep, Prem;Micky;Pradeep, Chakrabarty,Vijith;Junior, Thorat
Baldip, Bheke, Gagandeep, Prem;
Pradeep, Chakrabarty,Vijith;
Junior, Thorat


Franco, Tamba, Ravanan, Yumnam;
Dias, Lenny, Beto, Balan;
Chhetri, Antchouet

Air India have already been relegated, finishing second from bottom and have really nothing to play for in what is a dead rubber against Churchill Brothers. They have failed to fulfill the club licencing criterion and the All India Football Federation (AIFF) have barred them from participating in the top division league from next season.

Their players will be hoping to catch the eye of the I-League teams in the hope of winning a contract and extending their playing career in the national league.

Churchill, who were crowned Champions in their last encounter against Mohun Bagan which they could only draw, have even less motivation to get anything out of the match.

The Goan side will be without the services for Subash Bhowmick, their technical director, for the tie as many believe his time at the club has come to an end.

The only possible reason for the Airmen would be to prove that were up to the mark to play at this level and thus conjure up a fighting performance against the new champions.


Air India: Boboi Singh would be available for selection after serving his suspension.

Churchill Brothers: Mariano Dias will have a full squad at his disposal.

  • Air India have managed only a single clean sheet all season and have let in 50 goals so far. 
  • Air India are on a five match losing streak. Their last point was a 1-1 stalemate versus East Bengal.
  • This is Subash Bhowmick's second first division title after a gap of 9 years (NFL With East Bengal).

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 12-May-2013 Air India F.C. 0 - Churchill Brothers SC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 19-Mar-2013 Churchill Brothers SC 3 - Air India F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 24-Sep-2012 Air India F.C. 0 - Churchill Brothers SC 4
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 02-Feb-2012 Air India F.C. 0 - Churchill Brothers SC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 29-Oct-2011 Churchill Brothers SC 2 - Air India F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
33Jagroop SinghGoalkeeper
18Gagandeep SinghDefender
4Pratik ChaudhariDefender
29V. Prem KumarDefender
6Amos OmejeMidfielder
23Souvik ChakrabartyDefender
20Prakash ThoratStriker
15Johny Chand SinghMidfielder
18Vijith ShettyMidfielder
10Elijah Obagbemiro JuniorStriker
38Rahul BhekeDefender
1Sukhwinder SinghGoalkeeper
4Ramandeep SinghDefender
5Baldip SinghDefender
13Ong Teshering LepchaMidfielder
-Pradeep MohanrajMidfielder
14Henry EzehStriker
16Branco CardozoStriker
42Sandip NandyGoalkeeper
12Denzil FrancoDefender
13Dharmaraj RavananDefender
26Raju YumnamDefender
6Lamine TambaDefender
24Lenny RodriguesMidfielder
31Ashley FernandesMidfielder
9H. AntchouetStriker
35Bineesh BalanStriker
43Balal ArezouStriker
11Sunil ChhetriStriker
1Lalit ThapaGoalkeeper
29Satish SinghDefender
11Sanjay BalmuchuDefender
-Steven DiasMidfielder
44Bikramjit SinghMidfielder
11Roberto Mendes Da SilvaMidfielder
22Jaison ValesStriker
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Cornell Glen Cornell Glen
Shillong Lajong
14 3
Sunil Chhetri Sunil Chhetri
13 3
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Josimar Josimar
Mohd Sp
13 1
Ranti Martins Ranti Martins
12 0