Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
February 9, 2013 3:45 PM IST
Duler Stadium — Mapusa
Referee:‬ R. Dsa‎
20′ Josimar

Salgaocar FC - Shillong Lajong FC: Can David Booth's men shrug off North-Eastern challenge?

Goal.com analyses the I-League encounter between the two teams from the bottom half of the table and what could possibly decide the result of the match...

By Aman Arora

Shillong Lajong vs Salgaocar:I-League

Milagres, Augustin, Nicolau, Cardozo;
Josimar, Obatola

Lallawmzuala, Passah, Son, Shadap;
Haokip, Matsugane, Lyngdoh, Jibon;
Sushil, Sho


Salgaocar FC will welcome Shillong Lajong in a bottom of the table clash this weekend.  The Goans, currently 11th in the table are just two points behind 10th placed Shillong Lajong, albeit with a game in hand. On the back of an impressive 0-2 away victory against Pune FC, Salgaocar are expected to close that gap on their rivals of the weekend. John Wilkinson will again be vital for the Goans as he will yet again try to pull the strings from midfield.

As far as Shillong are concerned, coming on the back of a 2-1 victory against United Sikkim, caretaker manager Thangboi Singto will most certainly use the attacking powress of Sushil Singh and new signing Sho Kamimura to go for the three points. A victory this weekend will certainly go a long way in finishing in the top 10 for the side from Shillong.


Salgaocar FC: David Booth will not have his Brazilian centre-half Luciano Sabrosa due to the recurrence of a hamstring injury. With Rahul Kumar suspended, Booth may have to use a makeshift defensive pairing of Augustine Fernandes and Nicolau Colaco.

Shillong Lajong FC: Thangboi Singto will have the services of Eugeneson Lyngdoh while Renedy Singh, Chitrasen Singh and Govin Singh are out injured.


  • Shillong Lajong have conceded a massive 31 goals this season, which is second only to United Sikkim FC, who have conceded 40 this season.
  • Salgaocar FC are unbeaten in their last five games against Shillong Lajong. The Goans have won twice and drawn thrice against the team from the North-East.
  • Salgaocar have scored only 17 goals this season, only 2 more than Mohun Bagan.


How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 28-Feb-2014 Salgaocar F.C. 3 - Shillong Lajong FC 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 15-Jan-2014 Salgaocar F.C. 0 - Shillong Lajong FC 4
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 06-Dec-2013 Shillong Lajong FC 2 - Salgaocar F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 09-Feb-2013 Salgaocar F.C. 2 - Shillong Lajong FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 12-Oct-2012 Shillong Lajong FC 1 - Salgaocar F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
21Vinay SinghGoalkeeper
3Augustin FernandesDefender
23Thounaogam Dinesh SinghDefender
19Nicolau Colaco Defender
2Fulganco CardozoDefender
25Rocus LamareMidfielder
26Randeep SinghMidfielder
30Francis FernandesMidfielder
31John WilkinsonMidfielder
14G. ObatolaStriker
43Albino GomesGoalkeeper
34Brian MascarenhasMidfielder
15Collin AbranchesDefender
15Anthony BarbosaMidfielder
21Cajetan FernandesMidfielder
8Milagres GonsalvesDefender
9Marcus MasceranhasStriker
24M. Basanta SinghMidfielder
3Wailadmi PassahDefender
17Khangembam Jibon SinghMidfielder
10Eugeneson LyngdohMidfielder
6Minchol SonDefender
23Lalchhuan MawiaDefender
28Samuel ShadapDefender
13Boithang HaokipDefender
11Taisuke MatsuganeMidfielder
16Sushil SinghStriker
27Sho KamimuraStriker
1Lalthuammawia RalteGoalkeeper
30Lalrinzuala KhiangteDefender
20Samson RamengmawiaMidfielder
26Jacob LalrawngbawlaMidfielder
29TH.Bipin SinghMidfielder
11P.C. LalhlimtharaStriker
22Friday GbenemeStriker
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Cornell Glen Cornell Glen
Shillong Lajong
14 3
Sunil Chhetri Sunil Chhetri
13 3
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Josimar Josimar
Mohd Sp
13 1
Ranti Martins Ranti Martins
12 0