Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
February 2, 2013 2:30 PM IST
Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex — Pune, Mahārāṣṭra
Referee:‬ A. Costa‎
C.K. Vineeth 37′
C.K. Vineeth 38′
C.K. Vineeth 47′

Air India - Prayag United Preview: Can the Airmen stop the Purple Brigade at home?

As Eelco Schattorie's men have started to find form of late, it will be a tough task for the home side to snatch three points....

By Atanu Mitra

I-League: Ranti Martins celebrates after completing his hat-trick against Air India


Baldip, Dias, Bheke, Gagandeep;
Souvik, Shetty, Mohanraj;
Junior, Henry


Deepak, Gouramangi, Rasaq,Dhanachandra
Tulunga, Bhowmick, Asif, Vineeth

Air India will face an in-form Prayag United side in an I-League home match today.
The Mumbai based side have been mediocre throughout this season, having clinched only 15 points from as many matches. The team has failed to find a suitable replacement for Manandeep Singh, who has left for East Bengal over the summer. Henry Ezeh and Elijah Junior, their two foreign strikers have been unable to live up to the expectations. Micky Fernandes and Souvik Chakraborty will form the creative force for the Airmen to supply balls the forward line.

Prayag will be banking on the form of C.K. Vineeth, who has recently received a national call up, and Shylo Malswamtulunga who have been exceptional this season on the flanks. Eelco Schattorie will try to build up more attacks using the width of the pitch given that they are missing talismanic midfielder Carlos Hernandez in the middle of the park.

Bello Rasaq, along with experienced Gouramangi Moirangthem will bear defensive responsbilities. Lalkamal Bhowmick and K. Asif will look to break attacks and spray the ball across to the midfielders.


Air India – Jagroop Singh started in-between the sticks in the last two games, as Sukhwinder Singh had a slight niggle. It is still doubtful if he is fit enough to take back his spot in the eleven.

Prayag United –the Kolkata side doesn't have any big injury worries to speak of. Carlos Hernandez is still unavailable owing to personal reasons.  The startng eleven is expected to remain the same as the last Mohun Bagan match. Lester Fernandes is expected to act as a trump card in the second half.


  • Prayag United have scored 37 goals this season, second to only Churchill Brothers.
  • Ranti Martins is the highest scorer of the league so far, with 19 goals to his name already.
  • In their last five encounters, Prayag have won twice, while the other three matches were drawn.

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 02-Feb-2013 Air India F.C. 1 - United Sports Club 4
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 07-Oct-2012 United Sports Club 5 - Air India F.C. 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 11-Apr-2012 Air India F.C. 0 - United Sports Club 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 04-Dec-2011 United Sports Club 3 - Air India F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
India - Federation Cup ‎(INDF)‎ 20-Sep-2011 Air India F.C. 0 - United Sports Club 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
33Jagroop SinghGoalkeeper
18Gagandeep SinghDefender
4Ramandeep SinghDefender
5Baldip SinghDefender
23Souvik ChakrabartyDefender
20Prakash ThoratStriker
13Ong Teshering LepchaMidfielder
8Micky FernandesMidfielder
10Elijah Obagbemiro JuniorStriker
14Henry EzehStriker
38Rahul BhekeDefender
30Bubai SinghGoalkeeper
3John DiasDefender
4Pratik ChaudhariDefender
15Johny Chand SinghMidfielder
18Vijith ShettyMidfielder
-Pradeep MohanrajMidfielder
14Sandesh GadkariStriker
23Lal Mohan HansdaStriker
21Sangram MukherjeeGoalkeeper
5Dhanachandra SinghDefender
6Bello RasaqDefender
17Deepak Mandal Defender
12Anupam SarkarDefender
8Lalkamal BhowmickMidfielder
20Asif KottayilMidfielder
28Shylo MalswamtulungaMidfielder
31C.K. VineethMidfielder
28Ranti MartinsStriker
41Subrata PaulGoalkeeper
20Chinta Chanrashekhar RaoDefender
13Lukram James SinghMidfielder
14Mohammed RafiqueStriker
32Tapan MaityMidfielder
12Gouranga BiswasMidfielder
24Shankar OraonStriker
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Cornell Glen Cornell Glen
Shillong Lajong
14 3
Sunil Chhetri Sunil Chhetri
13 3
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Josimar Josimar
Mohd Sp
13 1
Ranti Martins Ranti Martins
12 0