Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
March 20, 2013 4:00 PM IST
Duler Stadium — Mapusa
Referee:‬ A. Pillai‎
Juanfri 63′ (PG)

Salgaocar - Sporting Clube de Goa Preview: The Flaming Oranje hope to do the double over their Goan rivals

Both the Goan sides have improved in the recent past, winning three of their respective last four games and will be looking to move away from the relegation zone...

By Ayush Srivastava

Pailan Arrows vs Sporting Clube de Goa, I-League
AIFF Media


Nicolau, Augustin, Sobrosa, Cardozo;
Francis, Wilkinson, Rocus, Gilbert;
Josimar, Milagres


Samananda, Mathew, Singam, Joyner, Berlanga;
Shirodkar, Kalu, Jovel;
Dawson, Juanfri


Sporting Clube de Goa take on Salgaocar FC, hoping to complete a double over their Goan rivals. However the two teams head into the clash on the back of some good form, having won three of their last four games respectively, and have moved away from the relegation zone, though they are not completely out of the woods yet.

The addition of Josimar, Gabriel Obatola and John Wilkinson has added a renewed impetus David Booth’s side, in their bid to push clear of the relegation zone. Having looked toothless in-attack before the addition of the trio, they were efficient against Pune FC and Shillong Lajong, registering 2-0 wins.

Booth’s counterpart, Oscar Bruzon, has also unleashed a mini Spanish revolution at Sporting, with Angel Berlanga and striker Juan Francisco Garcia Pena having joined the Flaming Oranje in the last transfer window.

Both the sides have experienced an upsurge in fortunes in recent times...

While Sporting were famous for scoring and conceding goals by the bucket last season, under Bruzon, they have become tighter at the back, having not conceded in their last 4 games, which has resulted in 10 points for the side.

They now look out of danger, and a totally different unit from the one that was all-over the place at the start of the season.


Salgaocar FC – Having had a good break to recover, David Booth’s side have a clean bill of health, and the Englishman has a huge squad to choose from.

Sporting Clube de Goa – The Flaming Oranje also have no known injury issues to deal with, and Dawson Fernandes could be given a start upfront, alongside Juanfri.


  • Sporting have gone more than 360 minutes in the league without conceding a goal, having kept a cleansheet in their last four games.


  • Ogba Kalu Nnanna, who is the only remaining member of the four foreigners who started the season at the Flaming Oranje, is also their highest scorer with nine goals this season.


  • The Flaming Oranje have lost 5 games at home this season, the second highest number of defeats on their own turf, by a club in the I-League this season.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 15-Apr-2014 Sporting Clube de Goa 3 - Salgaocar F.C. 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 01-Dec-2013 Salgaocar F.C. 0 - Sporting Clube de Goa 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 20-Mar-2013 Salgaocar F.C. 1 - Sporting Clube de Goa 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 28-Jan-2013 Sporting Clube de Goa 2 - Salgaocar F.C. 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 12-Feb-2012 Salgaocar F.C. 2 - Sporting Clube de Goa 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Karanjit SinghGoalkeeper
3Augustin FernandesDefender
19Nicolau Colaco Defender
2Fulganco CardozoDefender
23Rahul KumarDefender
25Rocus LamareMidfielder
26Randeep SinghMidfielder
30Francis FernandesMidfielder
31John WilkinsonMidfielder
14G. ObatolaStriker
1Pawan KumarGoalkeeper
23Thounaogam Dinesh SinghDefender
15Collin AbranchesDefender
15Anthony BarbosaMidfielder
34Brian MascarenhasMidfielder
37Gilbert OliveiraMidfielder
8Milagres GonsalvesDefender
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Cornell Glen Cornell Glen
Shillong Lajong
14 3
Sunil Chhetri Sunil Chhetri
13 3
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Josimar Josimar
Mohd Sp
13 1
Ranti Martins Ranti Martins
12 0