Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
November 27, 2012 7:00 PM IST
Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium (Fatorda Stadium) — Margao, Goa
Referee:‬ R. Shah‎

Sporting Clube de Goa - Pune FC Preview: Can Derrick Pereira's men bounce back with all three points?

With the two teams not getting favourable results in the last round of the I-League, both managers will be desperate to get back to winning ways...

By Kaustav Bera

I-League: Sporting Clube de Goa - Pune FC

Rovan, Samananda,Keita, Pereira;
Joseph Pereira,Borges,Ogba,Shirodkar;


Ramu, Edathodika, Costa, Gurjinder;
Daisuke, Chika, Douhou, Arata,
Moga, Jeje


Sporting Clube de Goa and Pune FC didn't give a good account of themselves in the previous round. While Pune FC were held to a draw at home by unfancied United Sikkim FC, the Flaming Oranje went down to the AIFF Developmental side by a solitary goal.

Sporting Clube de Goa are going to obviously sacrifice their three striker strategy and pack the midfield against a combative Red Lizards' side. New Japanese sensation Seiya Sugishita who had a brilliant debut against Shillong Lajong will start upfront with local boy Dawson Fernandes.

Can Ekendra Singh put accusations aside and look to win?

Anorue Obiora will be expected to make an appearance from the bench if things don't go Sporting's way. Adil Ahmed Khan too will be available for selection as the India International has recovered from his injury.

Meanwhile Derrick Pereira has a lot to think after his side gave away the early lead to stutter to a draw against a floundering Snow Lions side. The coach has made it clear that there will be changes in the First XI after the last debacle, where they were expected to pick up a regulation win. The Pune FC coach wasn't too pleased with his team's performance and had mentioned of many players not playing up to the required potential.

Will James Moga be on fire yet again?

James Moga will be the key man for the Red Lizards as the South Sudanese striker netted two goals against United Sikkim and looks to be back on form ahead of the tie against his former side.

Daisuke Nisiguchi will be the one providing the creative spark in attack, while skipper Douhou Pierre will try to dominate the midfield.


Sporting Clube de Goa: Striker Victorino Fernandes is out for a match for picking up a straight Red card in the first match. Adil Khan too has recovered from injury and is expected to make the bench.

Pune FC: Abhra Mondal is fully fit now, and should replace Meloly in the starting XI. While Asin is still out with an injury and Sukhwinder Singh is recovering, Shanmugam Venkatesh and Khangtang Paite are back in the squad replacing Othallo Tabia and Nikhil Kadam.

  • James Moga was the top scorer for SC Goa last season, before switching sides.
  • In the last two away matches between these sides, Pune FC have failed to register a victory and while the Goans have won once.
  • Expect this to be a goal fest as all matches between the two have seen a minimum of four goals, with the last having a scoreline of SC Goa 4-2 Pune FC

Follow Kaustav Bera on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 16-Feb-2014 Pune FC 1 - Sporting Clube de Goa 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 02-Nov-2013 Sporting Clube de Goa 2 - Pune FC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 20-Jan-2013 Pune FC 0 - Sporting Clube de Goa 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 27-Nov-2012 Sporting Clube de Goa 1 - Pune FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
I-League ‎(I-L)‎ 01-Feb-2012 Sporting Clube de Goa 4 - Pune FC 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
13Ashok Singh Goalkeeper
3Matthew GonsalvesDefender
8Adil Ahmed KhanMidfielder
6Keita BoubacarDefender
42Freiman Mauricio PeixotoMidfielder
8Ogba Kalu NnannaMidfielder
11Jovel MartinsMidfielder
15Pratesh Shirodkar Midfielder
24Rovan PereiraDefender
42Anorue ObioraMidfielder
10Dawson FernandesStriker
30Agnel GomesGoalkeeper
25Boboi SinghDefender
33Joyner LourencoDefender
22Joseph PereiraMidfielder
23Rowllin BorgesMidfielder
9Seiya SugishitaStriker
7Mackroy Peixote Midfielder
26Abhra MondalGoalkeeper
4Chika WaliDefender
5Gurjinder KumarDefender
15Anas EdathodikaDefender
25Srikanth RamuDefender
11Douhou PierreMidfielder
14Karma TsewangMidfielder
11Khanthang PaiteMidfielder
23Mumtaz AkhtarMidfielder
15James MogaStriker
10Singam Subash SinghStriker
27Shahinlal MelolyGoalkeeper
15Caitano CostaDefender
6Shanmugam VenkateshMidfielder
7D. NishiguchiMidfielder
8Arata IzumiMidfielder
16Velington RochaMidfielder
12Jeje LalpekhluaStriker
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Cornell Glen Cornell Glen
Shillong Lajong
14 3
Sunil Chhetri Sunil Chhetri
13 3
Darryl Duffy Darryl Duffy
13 2
Josimar Josimar
Mohd Sp
13 1
Ranti Martins Ranti Martins
12 0