Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
October 22, 2013 4:00 PM IST
Yuba Bharati Krirangan (Salt Lake Stadium) — Kalkātā (Kolkata), West Bengal
Referee:‬ S. Delovski‎
Rogerinho 43′

East Bengal - Kuwait SC Preview: All or nothing for the Red and Gold as Kolkata prepares for a thriller

Players issue rallying cry to teammates as the Kolkata side find themselves one step away from history, but in their way stand the champions themselves..

By Nikhil Jitendran

Rogerio de Assis Coutinho - AlKuwait SC Vs East Bengal - AFC Cup
goal arabian
All of Kolkata (fans of the Red and Gold, in particular) have been waiting with baited breath for the match of the year, as East Bengal face Kuwait SC in the second leg of the semi-final of the Asian Football Confederations (AFC) Cup. Kuwait SC ousted Bengal 4-2 in the first leg that was held in Kuwait City.

For East Bengal, the equation couldn’t be simpler. Win by a margin of two or more goals. Lose or draw and it's curtains for them. No Indian side, barring Dempo SC, has ever reached the finals of the competition, let alone win it.

The Kolkata outfit were indeed were fortunate but crafty as they came back to score two important away goals, thanks to Uga Okpara and Lalrindika Ralte in the first leg of the semi-finals. Nevertheless, the situation will get no easier at home thanks to the strength of the opposition.

The I-League outfit's form of late has been worrying as well. They initially kicked off their I-League campaign against Shillong Lajong with a resounding 4-0 away victory but then slumped to a humiliating 1-3 defeat against Dempo SC at home.

Ryuji Seouka is expected to sit out this match due to injury while Abhijit Mondal, Mehtab Hossain, Joaquim Abranches, Naoba Singh and Calvin Lobo are all expected to make the cut for the home team. Ralte will be given a free run on the right after he had left-back Al Sanea on the ropes in the first leg.

Sudanese striker James Moga, has expressed the desire and belief in the team. Speaking to The Telegraph, he said, “Kuwait SC are tactically and technically ahead. We have to play intelligently to counter their threat. Perhaps rely on counter-attacks. We know we can’t let in any more goals. So we have to balance our style of play. I haven’t been playing at my best so far this season and have to make amends."

Kuwait SC have the luxury of sitting on a comfortable lead and pounce on any chance offered by the opposition. However, whether they do implement that tactic is the question as the Romanian coach Marin Ion will remind them of the dangers of lifting their foot off the gas as they witnessed in the last game against the Kolkata giants.

As per Tamer Abdel, Kuwait SC media manager, the main problems facing the Kuwaiti side is the artificial turf at the Salt Lake stadium. “We are not used to playing on this sort of surface. We have to get used to the conditions,” he elucidated.

Kuwait SC are in a rich run of form having won all of their league games after the semi-final against East Bengal with Jemma and Waleed Ali Jumah among the goals. Bahraini defender Hussain Ali Baba is included in the squad and his experience will bring composure at the back for the visitors.

Farhad Al Ansari is likely to miss out due to an injury that kept him out of the first leg as well while the rest of the 18-man squad remains unchanged. Brazilian playmaker Rogerio is expected to take on the responsibility of being Kuwait’s lynchpin. Keeper Musab Al Kanderi will be itching to make amends after he let in two loose goals in the earlier fixture.   

“Both East Bengal and Mohun Bagan are tough opponents. But on current form, East Bengal seem to be way ahead,” said Abdel, whose side beat Mohun Bagan 1-0 away in a 2009 AFC Cup tie.

Kuwait SC might be the better side on paper as they head into this match, but East Bengal coach Marcos Falopa will know that his side have a chance if they get their tactics right. An expected crowd of 50,000 and more will play a huge part in spurring his team on.

It isn’t inexplicable to think the hosts might actually overcome the reigning AFC Cup champions. Yet with all to do for the Kolkata based side, some may be forgiven for thinking otherwise. East Bengal will have history within their reach and they’ll go all-out to get what they want - a ticket to the finals.


How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
AFC Cup ‎(AC)‎ 22-Oct-2013 East Bengal F.C. 0 - AlKuwait SC 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
AFC Cup ‎(AC)‎ 01-Oct-2013 AlKuwait SC 4 - East Bengal F.C. 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
1Abhijit MondalGoalkeeper
3Arnab MondalDefender
4Uga OkparaDefender
5Abhishek DasDefender
29Saumik DeyDefender
14Mehtab HossainMidfielder
20Lalrindika RalteMidfielder
24Cavin LoboMidfielder
17Joaquim Abranches Striker
15James MogaStriker
10Edeh ChidiStriker
30Gurpreet Singh SandhuGoalkeeper
19Robert LalthlamuanaDefender
16Gurwinder SinghDefender
7Harmanjot KhabraMidfielder
28Shylo MalswamtulungaMidfielder
9Alvito D'CunhaMidfielder
6Baljit SahniStriker
-Musab Al KandariGoalkeeper
-Hussain HakemDefender
-Husain Ali BabaMidfielder
-Jarah Al AteeqiMidfielder
-Yaqoub AbdullahDefender
-Waleed Ali JumahMidfielder
-Fahad Al RashidiDefender
-Fahad AwadDefender
-Abdulhadi KhamisStriker
-Chedi HammamiMidfielder
-Bader Al AzamiGoalkeeper
-Shereedah Al ShereedahMidfielder
-Abdullah Al DhafeeriMidfielder
-Abdullah Al BuraikiMidfielder
-Ali Al KandariStriker
17Issam JemaaStriker
44Ahmad Al SaqerDefender
Probable Lineups
Abhijit Mondal 1
Arnab Mondal 3
Uga Okpara 4
Abhishek Das 5
Saumik Dey 29
Mehtab Hossain 14
Lalrindika Ralte 20
Cavin Lobo 24
Joaquim Abranches 17
James Moga 15
Edeh Chidi 10
Musab Al Kandari 0
Hussain Hakem 0
Husain Ali Baba 0
Jarah Al Ateeqi 0
Yaqoub Abdullah 0
Waleed Ali Jumah 0
Fahad Al Rashidi 0
Fahad Awad 0
Abdulhadi Khamis 0
Chedi Hammami 0
Rogerinho 0
Group A Matchday 1
Times In IST
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Belencoso Belencoso
8 0
Omar Al Somah Omar Al Somah
6 1
Nguyễn Văn Quyết Nguyễn Văn Quyết
Ha Noi TT FC
6 0
Cezar Augusto Cezar Augusto
Yangon United
5 0
Gonzalo Damian Marronkle Gonzalo Damian Marronkle
Ha Noi TT FC
4 3