Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
April 24, 2013 3:00 PM IST
Shree Shiv Chhatrapati Sports Complex — Pune, Mahārāṣṭra
Referee:‬ Vo Minh Tri‎
Attendance:‬ 400‎
Jorge Tarres 57′

Churchill Brothers SC - Kitchee SC Preview: The Red Machines keen to join East Bengal in the pre-quarterfinals

With the Red and Gold having confirmed their spot in the next round of the AFC Cup, the Goans are eager to ensure progress as well...

By Anselm Noronha

Willy Moraes, Sunil Chhetri, Pre-match Press Conference, Churchill Brothers vs Kitchee SC, AFC Cup
Churchill Brothers SC

Franco, Ravanan, Tamba, Yumnam;
Dias, Lenny, Asley, Balan;
Antchouet, Chhetri
KITCHEE SC (4-1-3-2)

Kwan Yee, Rehman, Recio, Kin Fung;
Siu Kei, Ka Wai, Siu Wai;
Tarres, Counago

After four rounds in group E of the AFC Cup, Indonesia's Semen Padang are unbeaten and lead the pack with 10 points from three wins and a draw. Kitchee SC and Churchill Brothers are the next best contenders, with six and four points respectively, while Warriors FC trail behind with three points.

Defeat for Churchill Brothers will mean elimination for the Indian side as they will then be five points behind the Hong Kong outfit, with only one match to play thereafter.

This is hence a must win encounter for the home team who however have the advantage of playing under familiar conditions, given that the kick-off is scheduled for 15:30 IST, something which the away side could find it tough to adjust.

The injuries to Beto, Bikramjit Singh and Tomba Singh however will leave the midfield with lesser options, as confirmed by stand-in Churchill coach Willy Moraes.

On the other hand, Kitchee SC will look to confirm their advancement to the next round with a win on Wednesday.


  • Kitchee SC training in Pune
    Churchill Brothers SC had progressed from the group stages of the 2010 AFC Cup, finishing runners up with two victories.
  • This was after Churchill Brothers SC had failed to qualify for the 2010 Asian Champions League.
  • Churchill Brothers SC is the only "family run" club in India.
  • In 2010-11, Kitchee SC won its first league title (Hong Kong First Division League) after 47 years, under their current coach Josep Gombau.
  • In 2012, Arsenal visited Hong Kong after 17 years and donated HK$780,000 to Kitchee Foundation in support of the youth training centre after playing an exhibition match with Kitchee SC that ended 2-2.
  • Kitchee SC's best performance in the AFC Cup was when they reached the Round of 16, in the year 2012.
  • Kitchee SC had beaten Churchill Brothers SC 3-0 in the first leg that was played in Hong Kong.

Follow Anselm Noronha on 

How do you stay up with football when on the move? With http://m.goal.com –your best source for mobile coverage of the beautiful game.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
AFC Cup ‎(AC)‎ 24-Apr-2013 Churchill Brothers SC 0 - Kitchee SC 4
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
AFC Cup ‎(AC)‎ 26-Feb-2013 Kitchee SC 3 - Churchill Brothers SC 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
42Sandip NandyGoalkeeper
12Denzil FrancoDefender
13Dharmaraj RavananDefender
26Raju YumnamDefender
6Lamine TambaDefender
24Lenny RodriguesMidfielder
31Ashley FernandesMidfielder
9H. AntchouetStriker
22Jaison ValesStriker
43Balal ArezouStriker
11Sunil ChhetriStriker
1Lalit ThapaGoalkeeper
11Sanjay BalmuchuDefender
16Amandeep SinghMidfielder
-Steven DiasMidfielder
18Thangjam Saran SinghDefender
35Bineesh BalanStriker
11Biswajit BiswasStriker
1Wang ZhenpengGoalkeeper
6Zeshan RehmanDefender
13Cheung Kin FungDefender
2Fernando RecioMidfielder
-Chu Siu KeiMidfielder
10Lam Ka WaiMidfielder
12Kwan Yee LoDefender
19Yang HuangMidfielder
-Pablo CouñagoStriker
18Jorge TarresStriker
-Cheng Siu WaiStriker
23Guo JianqiaoGoalkeeper
21Tsang Kam ToDefender
6Gao WenMidfielder
17Chan Man FaiMidfielder
16Tsang Chi HauDefender
22Lo Chi KwanMidfielder
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Belencoso Belencoso
8 0
Omar Al Somah Omar Al Somah
6 1
Nguyễn Văn Quyết Nguyễn Văn Quyết
Ha Noi TT FC
6 0
Cezar Augusto Cezar Augusto
Yangon United
5 0
Gonzalo Damian Marronkle Gonzalo Damian Marronkle
Ha Noi TT FC
4 3