Fourth time lucky? Terim returns to Galatasaray

ShareClose Comments
Having first been appointed by the club in 1996, the vastly-experienced coach is back to take charge of the of Turkish giants once again

Galatasaray have announced the appointment of Fatih Terim, with the vastly-experienced coach returning for a fourth spell in charge of the Turkish club.

Terim has been out of work since July, when he left his role as Turkey's national team coach after he was involved in an altercation with a restaurant owner.

Gala sacked Igor Tudor on Monday after they lost three of their last four matches in all competitions under the former Juventus and Croatia defender.

Terim has not worked in club football since 2013, when he left Galatasaray to re-join Turkey after claiming his sixth Super Lig title, all of which have come at the Istanbul giants.

The 64-year-old - who also represented the club as a player - has a long association with Galatasaray, having first taken charge in 1996 after leading Turkey to the European Championship in the same year.

Article continues below

Terim subsequently won four consecutive Super Lig titles to write his name into Gala folklore, also claiming the 2000 UEFA Cup crown, although he did not succeed during short spells in Italy with Fiorentina and AC Milan.

During Terim's second spell in charge of Turkey, he led his country to the semi-finals of the 2008 European Championship.

Galatasaray sit third in the Super Lig table after 16 matches, a point behind leaders Istanbul Basaksehir but ahead of fourth-placed champions Besiktas.

Next article:
Azpilicueta: Chelsea must be perfect to beat Barcelona
Next article:
Barcelona is my club - Sergi Roberto rejects other interest to sign new deal
Next article:
ISL 2017-18: Mumbai City FC keep playoff hopes alive, edge past NorthEast United in five-goal thriller
Next article:
'Real Madrid shouldn't sell Bale' - Man Utd target still has 'credit' in Spain, says Arbeloa
Next article:
Usain Bolt's football career - how sprinting legend aims to conquer Man Utd & Borussia Dortmund