Shamrock Rovers release nine players in clearout

Following the close of the 2013 season, the Hoops have continued their preparations for the 2014 campaign by releasing a number of players
Airtricity Premier Division side Shamrock Rovers have announced the departure of nine players from the club as manager Trevor Croly continues to prepare for the new season.

James Chambers, David Elebert and Danny Ledwith join Conor McCormack, Ken Oman, Conor Powell, and Tommy Stewart on the way out of Tallaght Stadium. Long-serving midfield pair Billy Dennehy and Stephen Rice are also among the departees.

Announcing the news, the EA Sports Cup winners thanked the players for their services and wished them the best for the future.

The news comes shortly after the club announced the signings of Luke Byrne, Simon Madden and Conor Kenna from Bohemians, Derry City and St Patrick's Athletic respectively.