Longford Town 2-3 Bray Wanderers - Seagulls see off Town to stay in top flight

Kevin O'Connor's goal four minutes from time ensured that Bray retain their Airtricity Premier Division status for the 2014 season
Bray Wanderers struck late to defeat Longford Town in an exciting encounter at City Calling Stadium which saw them record a 5-4 aggregate victory in the Airtricity League Promotion/Relegation Playoff. Goals from Gary Dempsey, Kieran 'Marty' Waters, and Kevin O'Connor saw the Seagulls edge out the Town, who twice equalised through Daniel Purdy.

It didn't take long for Bray to assert themselves on the game, and they took the lead after just three minutes when a clearance fell to Gary Dempsey, who was lurking just outside the area to rifle the ball past Chris Bennion. The goalkeeper had to be alert five minutes later to stop the Seagulls from doubling their lead, and did well to keep out David Webster's effort.

Webster forced Bennion into another good save as Bray began to turn the screw in the first-half, but the Seagulls couldn't extend their lead despite some good play from Jason Byrne and Kieran 'Marty' Waters. The hosts didn't threaten Darren Quigley's goal too often in the first-half, but were much more eager to attack after the break, and levelled the tie through Daniel Purdy's well-taken shot.

With 15 minutes remaining, Bray took the lead again as Waters drove the ball past the outstretched Bennion. However, Longford refused to give up, and levelled matters once again just four minutes later as Purdy bagged his second with another excellent strike.

A speculative effort from 30 yards saw Kevin O'Connor take the plaudits for the Seagulls as the match headed into stoppage time. Both sides were reduced to 10 men as Bray tried to wind the clock down, with Shane O'Connor and Noel Haverty sent off after the Longford player went in on the Bray goalkeeper.

Despite Longford twice coming from behind, they could not find a late equaliser, seeing Bray Wanderers retain their Airtricity Premier Division status for 2014.