League of Ireland players secure third place in FIFPro Tournament

Pat Scully's squad of out-of-contract Irish players took third place at the FIFPro Tournament with a 2-0 win against Finland
A team consisting of out-of-contract League of Ireland players has come third at the FIFPro Tournament in Oslo.

The squad of Airtricity League players all saw their contracts expire at the end of the season, and headed to Norway in the hope of finding new clubs or securing new contracts for 2013. Managed by Pat Scully, the Irish side drew 1-1 with Norway in their semi-final clash, but were defeated 6-5 in a penalty shootout at the end of the 90 minutes. The Irish team looked to be heading for defeat against Norway before a Stephen Maher converted an 87th minute penalty.

The penalty defeat saw Ireland progress to the third/fourth place playoff against Finland. An early penalty kick saw Scully's side take a sixth minute lead with Shane Tracy stepping up to take the spot kick. Barry O'Mahony secured third place in the second half, meeting Dean Marshall's free-kick to give the Irish team a 2-0 victory.

Sweden took the title after a penalty win over Norway in the final.

Ireland team v Norway: Craig Hyland, Niall O'Reilly, Shane Tracy, Liam Burns, Mark Rossiter, David O'Leary, Danny Joyce, Craig Walsh, Stephen O'Flynn, Tadhg Purcell, Mark Leech
Subs: Stephen Maher for Joyce, Dean Marshall for O Flynn, Peter McMahon for Purcell, Barry O'Mahoney for O'Leary, Peter Higgins for Walsh

Ireland team v Finland: Charlie Treacy, Niall O'Reilly, Shane Tracy, Liam Burns, Mark Rossiter, Peter McMahon, Stephen Maher, Peter Higgins, Dean Marshall, Barry O'Mahony, Mark Leech.
Subs: Stephen O'Flynn for Leech, Craig Walsh for O'Reilly, David O'Leary for O'Mahony, Niall O'Reilly for Tracy, Danny Joyce for Marshall, Mark Leech for O'Flynn