PFAI announce the winners of their end of season awards

Sligo Rovers, St Patrick's Athletic, Limerick and Sunderland are all represented in the Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland's end of season awards
The Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland (PFAI) announced the winners of their end of season awards on Saturday evening, November 10.

Sligo Rovers striker Mark Quigley has been voted the 2012 Player of the Year, after his performances helped the Bit O'Red claim their first league title in over three decades.

Quigley beat off competition from his Sligo team mate Jason McGuinness, St Patrick's Athletic's Sean O'Connor and Shamrock Rovers midfielder Ronan Finn to claim the award.

St Patrick's Athletic's 19-year-old midfielder Chris Forrester has been named Young Player of the year, while Limerick's Rory Gaffney collected the First Division Player of the Year award.

There was also recognition for Irish players plying their trade abroad, with Sunderland's James McClean picking up the Irish Overseas Player of the Year award, ahead of West Brom's Shane Long and Norwich midfielder Wes Hoolahan.

Full PFAI 2012 End of Season Awards

Player of the Year
Mark Quigley (Sligo Rovers)
Young Player of the Year
Chris Forrester (St Patrick's Athletic)
First Division Player of the Year
Rory Gaffney (Limerick)
Overseas Player of the Year
James McClean (Sunderland)
Referee of the Year
Neil Doyle
Merit Award
Dr Alan Byrne