Shamrock Rovers face Cork City in FAI Cup Third Round

Shamrock Rovers will face Cork City and UCD take on Derry City in the FAI Cup Third Round, while St Patrick's Athletic receive a bye into the quarter-finals
The draw for the Third Round of the FAI Ford Cup was made this evening on RTE’s MNS with some interesting ties thrown up. Cork City’s trip to Tallaght is the pick of the seven ties with St. Patrick’s Athletic receiving a bye into the quarter-finals.

Shamrock Rovers have won the FAI Cup a record 24 times but will face a tough test in order to progress to the next stages of this year’s competition. The Hoops haven’t lifted the trophy since 1987 and the Tallaght club will be desperate to add to their bulging trophy cabinet.

The only other all top flight clash will be at the Belfield Bowl as UCD, who won the Cup in 1984 take on Declan Devine’s Derry City, who are in search of their fifth crown.

There are three non-league sides in the last fifteen with Malahide United drawn against Dundalk at Gannon Park while Avondale United of Cork will travel to Dalymount Park to face the 2008 winners Bohemians in another Dublin versus Cork clash.

Last year’s runners-up Shelbourne will welcome non-league Cherry Orchard to Tolka Park in what should be an entertaining Dublin derby.

Following the demise of Monaghan United, the FAI decided that the first team drawn would be given a bye into the quarter-finals and St. Pats will be counting their lucky stars as they have been given the weekend off and a passage through to the last eight.

Waterford United will host Mervue United at the RSC, while Drogheda United will want to continue their fine campaign to date when they face First Division side Wexford Youths at Hunky Dorys Park.

The ties will take place the during the week of Sunday 26th August.

FAI Cup 3rd Round Draw
Waterford United v Mervue United
Malahide United v Dundalk
Shamrock Rovers v Cork City
Bohemians v Avondale United
Drogheda United v Wexford Youths
UCD v Derry City
Shelbourne v Cherry Orchard
St.Patrick’s Athletic- Bye