Carrick earns England recall & Terry misses out as Hodgson experiments for Italy friendly

The Manchester United man is one of a number of changes to the squad as the former West Brom boss places an emphasis on young players in a repeat of the Euro 2012 quarter-final
England manager Roy Hodgson has named an experimental squad for their upcoming friendly against Italy, with Wayne Rooney and John Terry missing out, while Michael Carrick and Adam Johnson have both earned recalls to the team.

There are first senior call-ups for Tottenham dup Steven Caulker and Jake Livermore as well as Ryan Bertrand, while Tom Cleverley joins Manchester United team-mate Carrick in midfield.

There are two goalkeepers in the squad both hoping to earn their first senior caps, as John Ruddy is back in the team after breaking his finger in the pre-Euro 2012 training camp, while Jack Butland is included after impressive displays for Team GB at the Olympics.

Frank Lampard is back in the team after pulling out of Euro 2012 with injury, while up front Hodgson has chosen a mix of strikers including Andy Carroll, Jermain Defoe, Theo Walcott and Daniel Sturridge, who was not picked for Euro 2012.

The squad is due to meet up on Sunday evening after the Community Shield between Chelsea and Manchester City at Villa Park, and will travel to Switzerland on Tuesday ahead of Wednesday's match.

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Birmingham City), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Ryan Bertrand (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Steven Caulker (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).

Midfielders: Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Adam Johnson (Manchester City), Jake Livermore (Tottenham Hotspur), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Jack Rodwell (Everton), Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Forwards: Andy Carroll (Liverpool), Jermain Defoe (Tottenham Hotspur), Daniel Sturridge (Chelsea), Theo Walcott (Arsenal).