Franciszek Smuda names provisional Poland squad for Euro 2012

The 63-year-old has selected a mixture of youth and experience for the European championship, and hopes some of the lesser-known names can make a breakthrough
Poland coach Franciszek Smuda has named a 26-man provisional squad that will compete at the upcoming Euro 2012 tournament, which the country will co-host together with Ukraine

The 63-year-old has opted to blend stellar names such as Wojciech Szczesny, Robert Lewandowski and Lukasz Piszczek with youngsters such as Legia Warsaw midfielder Rafal Wolski, and said that he hoped some of his lesser-known players will be able to make an impact.

"For the last two and a half years, I've had time to recognise what my players can do, and I believe the group chosen will give our fans real joy," Smuda announced at the unveiling of the squad.

"I tried to pick young players, not only for the Euros, but for the future as well. These tournaments always create new names, and I believe that two or three of them will be Polish.

"Our goal is to advance from the group, and I'm convinced that we can. Russia have fantastic players and Greece are a good team, but we are at home and have to do everything to progress."

Poland face Greece, the Czech Republic and Russia in Group A. Here is the squad in full:

Name Club
Lukasz Fabianski
Wojciech Szczesny
Przemyslaw Tyton
Sebastian Boenisch
Wrder Bremen
Kamil Glik
Tomasz Jodlowiec
Polonia Warsaw
Marcin Kaminski
Lech Poznan
Damien Perquis
Lukasz Piszczek
Borussia Dortmund
Marcin Wasilewski
Jakub Wawrzyniak Legia Warsaw
Grzegorz Wojtkowiak Lech Poznan
Jakub Blaszczykowski Borussia Dortmund
Dariusz Dudka
Kamil Grosicki
Adam Matuszczyk
Fortuna Dusseldorf
Adrian Mierzejewski
Rafal Murawski
Lech Poznan
Eugen Polanski
Ludovic Obraniak
Maciej Rybus Terek Grozny
Rafal Wolski
Legia Warsaw
Pawel Brozek
Michal Kucharczyk
Legia Warsaw
Robert Lewandowski
Borussia Dortmund
Artur Sobiech Hannover

Grzegorz Sandomierski, Arkadiusz Glowacki, Marcin Komorowski, Ariel Borysiuk, Ireneusz Jelen, Arkadiusz Piech and Michal Zyro have been named as reserves.