Lahm and Podolski excluded from Germany squad for Argentina friendly

The experienced pair are among those missing out as Joachim Low has announced his squad for Die Mannschaft's first match since their semi-final defeat to Italy at Euro 2012

Germany coach Joachim Low has chosen to rest a number of high-profile players after naming his 19-man squad for the friendly against Argentina on August 15.

Captain Philipp Lahm misses out due to the impending birth of his child, while Arsenal pair Lukas Podolski and Per Mertesacker are omitted to help them prepare for Arsenal’s Premier League opener against Sunderland on August 18.

“Philipp [Lahm] wanted to play, but after speaking to him on the phone, I made the decision to leave him to his private life,” Low told the German Football Association’s official website.

“Three days after the international match in Frankfurt, the Premier League season starts in England, so it's important that Per [Mertesacker], who was injured for a long time, and Lukas [Podolski], who is fighting for a regular place in the team, are able to prepare for the tasks ahead with their club.”

Hoffenheim goalkeeper Tim Wiese has also been cut, with his international future now in serious doubt as Germany look to proceed with a younger understudy to current No. 1, Manuel Neuer.

"Hansi Flick and I had a long conversation with Tim [Wiese] in Hoffenheim, and we have informed him that we are planning to use a younger goalkeeper for World Cup qualifying," revealed goalkeeping coach Andreas Klope.

Bayern Munich pair Bastian Schweinsteiger and Mario Gomez have also been excluded due to injury, with Low naming only one recognized striker in his squad in the form of Lazio’s Miroslav Klose.

Full Squad:

Name Club
Manuel Neuer Bayern Munich
Ron-Robert Zieler Hannover
Lars Bender Bayer Leverkusen
Holger Badstuber Bayern Munich
Jerome Boateng Bayern Munich
Benedikt Howedes Schalke
Mats Hummels Borussia Dortmund
Marcel Schmelzer Borussia Dortmund
Sven Bender Borussia Dortmund
Julian Draxler
Mario Gotze Borussia Dortmund
Ilkay Gundogan Borussia Dortmund
Sami Khedira Real Madrid
Toni Kroos Bayern Munich
Thomas Muller Bayern Munich
Mesut Ozil Real Madrid
Marco Reus
Borussia Dortmund
Andre Schurrle Bayer Leverkusen
Miroslav Klose Lazio