Confederations Cup groups announced

The official draw for the international tournament has been made and the teams can now start assessing their opposition ahead of the competition scheduled for this summer
Host nation Brazil have been drawn against Japan, Mexico and Italy in the opening group stage of the Confederations Cup.

Meanwhile, the reigning world and European Champions Spain meet Uruguay, Tahiti and the Africa Cup of Nations winners which will be decided next February.

The competition is held every four years and contested between the champions of each region from around the world.

Below is how the groups were drawn.

Brazil Spain
Japan Uruguay
Mexico Tahiti

Fifa president Sepp Blatter was quick to praise the host nation Brazil for their infrastructure and said that the country has come a long way over the years.

He said: "A lot has changed in this country since 1950, now that Brazil has developed not only in their culture but also in their economy.”

Brazil's president Dilma Rousseff was also at the draw and has insisted that the stadiums will be ready in time for the tournament.

"Winning the competition is the main aim, but we also must win off the pitch by getting everything organised in time. The venues will be ready," Rousseff said.

"We are certain that we have prepared everything properly in order to hold an outstanding sporting event and in June 2013 we will show everyone that we are in a position to hold the upcoming World Cup.”

The first match will be on June 15 and Brazil will open up against Asian champions Japan.