thumbnail Hello,

Only two Ghanaians made it into the Caf 25 nominees' list for the African Player of the Year, which is dominated by Nigeria

Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan and Kwadwo Asamoah are the only Ghanaians who made it into a 25-man shortlist for the 2013 African Player of the Year.

The Ghanaian duo will face competition from Nigeria's Vincent Enyeama, Didier Drogba of Cote d’Ivoire, Emmanuel Emenike of Nigeria, Chelsea’s Obi Mikel and Mohammed Salah of Egypt.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria. Ivorian Yaya Toure is the reigning African Player of the Year.

Below is the full list:

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria)
Asamoah Gyan (Ghana)
Dame N’Doye (Senegal)
Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire)
Emmanuel Emenike (Nigeria)
Islam Slimani (Algeria)
John Mikel Obi (Nigeria)
Jonathan Pitroipa (B. Faso)
Kévin Constant (Guinea)
Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana)
Luís Carlos Almada Soares – (Platini) (Cape Verde)
Mehdi Benattia (Morocco)
Mohamed Aboutrika (Egypt)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
Nicolas Nkoulou (Cameroon)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Ryan Isaac Mendes da Graça (Cape Verde)
Saladin Said (Ethiopia)
Seydou Keita (Mali)
Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria)
Sunday Mba (Nigeria)
Victor Wanyama (Kenya)
Vincent Enyeama (Enyeama)
Yao Kouassi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire)
Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)