Chelsea midfielder Michael Essien named in Ghana squad to face Zambia in 2014 WC qualifier

The Chelsea midfielder has been included in a strong 26-man squad named by Kwesi Appiah for Ghana's 2014 WC qualifier against the Chipolopolo on September 6 in Kumasi

Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah has named Michael Essien in a strong 26-man squad to face Zambia in next month's World Cup qualifier.

The Chelsea midfielder is making a return after a two-year break from international duties.

His comeback coincides with the return of the Ayew brothers and AC Milan midfielder Kevin-Prince Boateng who also quit international football for varied reasons.

Appiah invited Boateng and Andre Ayew, but excluded Jordan Ayew and Sulley Muntari of AC Milan.

The Black Stars will clash with Zambia on September 6 in Kumasi for the final round of group matches in the 2014 World Cup qualifiers.

Ghana are also scheduled for a friendly with Japan on September 10 in Yokohama. The Black Stars will start camping on Monday in Accra ahead of the game in Kumasi.

Ghana currently top Group D and will need to avoid defeat to reach the final phase of the 2014 World Cup qualifiers.


Goalkeepers: Fatau Dauda (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Adam Kwarasey (Stromgodset, Norway), Razak Braimah (Guadalajara, Spain)

Defenders: Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), Kissi Boateng (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), John Boye (Rennes, France), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Rashid Sumaila (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Mohammed Awal (Maritzburg United, South Africa)

Midfielders: Rabiu Mohammed (Kuban Krasnodar, Russia), Yussif Raman Chibsah (Sassuolo, Italy), Michael Essien (Chelsea, England), Kwadwo Asamoah (Juventus, Italy), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese, Italy), Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England), Solomon Asante (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Mubarak Wakaso (Espanyol, Spain), Christian Atsu (Porto, Portugal), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium).

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Andre Ayew (Marseille, France), Kevin Prince Boateng (AC Milan, Italy), Abdul Majeed Waris (Spartak Moscow, Russia), Mahatma Otoo (Sogndal, Norway).