Asamoah, Clottey & Ayew battle for SWAG top award

The association will use the opportunity to reward men and women of the sports fraternity who have distinguished themselves over the year

The Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) will organize the 38th edition of the SWAG awards on June 29 in Accra.

The event will see Kwadwo Asamoah, Emmanuel Clottey and Andre Dede Ayew vying for the footballer of the year award, with Priscilla Otchere going for the female footballer of the year. Kumasi Asante Kotoko's Masud Didi Dramani will be decorated with the coach of the year accolade after leading the Black Maidens to win bronze at the 2012 world U-17 women's championship.
The event is expected to confer honours on 20 sports men and women drawn from 15 sporting disciplines and five institutions for their contribution to the development of sports in the country.
A statement from SWAG said this year’s event will attract a number of international sports personalities and other high profile individuals in the country.
It added that the public will also have the opportunity to participate in the selection of winners for the sports personality of the year and footballer of the year awards through text messages and online voting.
Moses Odjeir of Tema Youth will go home with the promising star of the year award.

The club of the year award will go to Berekum Chelsea after quite a decent campaign in the Caf Champions League last year while the Black Maidens will wear the crown as the national team of the year.
Ghana's late president, Professor John Mills will receive a meritorious award so as late vice president, Alhaji Aliu Mahama.