Cameroon release Afcon 2013 qualifying list with Samuel Eto’o

The Indomitable Lions welcome back former captain Samuel Eto’o for their decisive encounter against the Blue Sharks in the final qualifying round of the 2013 Afcon
Cameroon coach Jean Paul Akono on Monday named a list of 26 players for the return leg of the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations final qualifying round against Cape Verde, including former captain and all-time top scorer Samuel Eto’o, who announced his comeback last week after spurning the first leg won by the Blue Sharks 2-0.

One of the team’s dependable scorers Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting of Mainz was sidelined following “a partial tear of the meniscus in his left knee”, according to his club’s coach Thomas Tuchel.

The Lions will open camp on October 8 at the Ahmadou Ahidjo Stadium in Yaounde, venue of the decisive clash, which local editorialists say would make or break the current generation after they failed to qualify for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations held in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea.

Cameroun would need to score at least three unanswered goals against their visitors to scramble a ticket to next year’s showpiece.


 Name  Club
 Guy Roland Ndy Assembe  Nancy
 Idriss Carlos Kameni  Malaga
 Joslain Mayebi  Wrexham
 Benoit Angbwa  FC Rostov
 Henri Bedimo  Montepellier
 Armel Kana-Biyik  Rennes
 Gaetan Bong  Valenciennes
 Aurelien Chedjou  Lille
 Joel Matip  Schalke 04
 Nicolas Nkoulou  Marseille
 Pierre Wome Nlend  Canon
 Dany Nounkeu  Galatasaray
 Allan Nyom  Grananda
 Achille Emana  Al-Hilal Ryad
 Jean II Makoun  Rennes
 Modeste Mbami  Al-Ittihad Jeddah
 Patrick Mevoungou  Admira Wacker
 Alain Junior Olle Olle  Varbergs Bols
 Willie Overtoom  Heracles
 Alexandre Song  Barcelona
 Vincent Aboubakar  Valenciennes
 Joel Babanda  Union Douala
 Samuel Eto’o  Anzhi
 Mohammadou Idrissou  Kaiserslautern
 Fabrice Olinga  Malaga
 Pierre Webo  Istanbul B