thumbnail Hello,
Argentina Primera to crown two champions a year

Argentina Primera to crown two champions a year


The Argentine Football Association will name winners from both short tournaments over the next 12 months, but the planned play-off between the two victors will remain

The Argentina Primera Division will once again crown a champion from both halves of the season, after the country's Football Association backtracked on plans to name a single winner from the Torneo Inicial and Final.

The AFA had previously stated that the top team from the two stages, renamed from Apertura and Clausura for the 2012-13 season, would have to meet in a play-off at the end of the Final to determine who would be named overall champion.

A press release from the organisation on Tuesday, however, revealed just three days before the Inicial begins that they would revert to the format in place since 1991.

This means that both winners will be recognised as Primera champions. The changes to the relegation format stay the same, with three teams going straight down to the Nacional B from the table determined by three-year averages.

The AFA did maintain that the final clash between the two champions would remain in the calendar, although it is unclear if the winner of that meeting will have their triumph recognised as a second title.

The Inicialkicks off on Friday, when 2012 Clausura champions Arsenal de Sarandi host Union. The first tournament will run from August to December, while the Final will begin in February and end in June.