Women’s football team of the year: Bloemfontein Celtic

ShareClose Comments
The Siwelele Women's side is rated among the best in the country alongside Tshwane University of Technology and University of Western Cape

Sports Movement has selected TUT PTA, UWC and Bloemfontein Celtic as ideal contenders of Women’s football team of the year. Both TUT PTA and UWC teams showed class and convincing approach to change the game going forward.

TUT PTA won their 4th Varsity Football title beating UJ 4-0 in the final and lifted the USSA championship title beating UWC 1-0. With the influence of Tebogo Mokae, TUT PTA has sealed their names on the good books of the Varsity Sports SA with their incomparable achievements in the Varsity Football. Currently, TUT PTA has won 21 wins in 27 games played.

UWC played 3 major tournaments this year and including the breadwinner Sasol League. Despite failing to collect any of the 3 titles in different tournaments, UWC young squad of players have shown hunger and desire to win big being lead by Banyana Banyana veteran Leandra Smeda. Back and forth, UWC remains topping the log standings in Western Cape and unbeaten with an inspiring record run this season recording 24 wins and 27 games played.

On the subject of Women’s football team of the year in South Africa, Bloemfontein Celtic is the Women’s football of the year. This is due to an unmatched form in this year’s Sasol League season recording a 100% winning record after 26 games played. Following their inspiring takeover in 2016 won the Sasol National Championship beating JVW 1-0 in the final, this year has been a good story to tell displaying their consistency.

With no doubt about it, players like Bambanani Nolufefe, Shiwe Nogwanya and Boitumelo Rabale have played an inspiring role to be able to maintain the unbeaten run. Currently Bloemfontein Celtic are leading the log standings in Free State with 78 points and 4 games left to complete the season, seal their place to the National Championship playoffs to be held in December in Mpumalanga.

Article continues below

Taking everything into context, it takes more than a team to be unbeaten in 26 games played. That is why Sports Movement is encouraged and pleased to name Bloemfontein Celtic as the Women’s football team of the year.

Content provided by Sports Movement 

Sports Movement Logo

Next article:
African All Stars Transfer News & Rumours: Sporting CP want Slimani return
Next article:
Spinazzola jokes Ronaldo has his Juventus shirt
Next article:
I have no problem with Sergio Ramos, says new Spain coach Luis Enrique
Next article:
Osorio should be firmly at the top of USMNT coaching wish list after leaving Mexico
Next article:
Who will replace Juan Carlos Osorio as Mexico national team coach?

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept