Uthongathi crowned ABC Motsepe League champions

ShareClose Comments
Uthongathi clinched the ABC Motsepe League crown in style as they narrowly beat Super Eagles of the Free State

Uthongathi FC were on Sunday crowned ABC Motsepe League national champions following their 1-0 win over Super Eagles. 

The only goal of the game came as a result of an own goal by Siyabonga Vilane in the 26th minute. 

The two teams had already secured their places in next season's National First Division (NFD) after finishing top of their respective groups at the play-offs. 

Uthongathi's promotion means KwaZulu Natal has four teams in the NFD.

Article continues below

KZN already has AmaZulu, Real Kings and Royal Eagles, with Thanda Royal Zulu set to play in the PSL next season after winning automatic promotion. 

Uthongathi received R800 000 for winning the tournament, with another R200 000 to be applied for the development of youth football project of their choice in consultation with both the South African Football Association (Safa) and the Motsepe Foundation.

Meanwhile, Free State will have a team in the NFD for the first team in one year. 

Next article:
William Troost-Ekong sent off in Galatasaray’s demolition of Bursaspor
Next article:
Scholes: I can understand De Gea wanting to quit Man Utd for Real Madrid
Next article:
Chelsea warned Conte would be 'big loss' as Le Saux questions sack culture
Next article:
Klopp desperate to keep Mane at Liverpool
Next article:
I-League 2017-18: Dudu Omagbemi bags four goals as East Bengal run riot against shambolic Southerners