USWNT to host Australia, Brazil and Japan in Tournament of Nations

ShareClose Comments
The Women's World Cup champions will play host to the round-robin tournament from July 27 to Aug. 3 on the West Coast.

The U.S. women's national team will host Australia, Brazil and Japan for the inaugural Tournament of Nations from July 27 to Aug. 3 on the West Coast, U.S. Soccer announced Wednesday.

Questions remain for U.S. U-20s

A round-robin tournament featuring three double-headers, the event will open in Seattle before shifting to San Diego and suburban Los Angeles.

U.S. Soccer plans to host the tournament every summer in years not featuring a Women's World Cup or Olympic Games, with the same four teams already confirmed to take part in 2018.

"These are three talented teams that we haven't played in a while so we're looking forward to a summer tournament that will be extremely challenging and valuable for our players and entertaining for the fans," U.S. coach Jill Ellis said in a news release.

The U.S. will face Australia at CenturyLink Field in Seattle on July 27 before traveling to take on Brazil on July 30 at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego. The Americans will close the tournament with a 2015 World Cup final rematch against Japan on Aug. 3 at StubHub Center in Carson, California.

Next article:
‘Preparation meets opportunity’ - Nigeria captain Ikouwem Utin reacts to Africa U20 Cup of Nations return
Next article:
Salah is fully recovered and full of joy – Klopp
Next article:
'He wanted to take my whole team' - Napoli president slams Sarri after Chelsea switch
Next article:
PSG's Tuchel to be patient with World Cup stars Neymar, Mbappe & Cavani
Next article:
'Motivated' Sanches just needs time at Bayern - Kovac

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept