TEAM NEWS: Matip and Lucas start, Brewster on the bench for Liverpool

The duo have shaken off their muscle niggles to make the 11 at Anfield, with the exciting 17-year-old named in a senior squad for the first time

Joel Matip and Lucas have won their fitness battles to line up for Liverpool against Crystal Palace on Sunday, allowing Jurgen Klopp to field an unchanged XI at Anfield.

The pair had been struggling with muscle issues picked up in the win at West Bromwich Albion last weekend, but take their positions in the heart of defence and at the base of midfield respectively. 

Martial breaks Man Utd 40-year curse

Ragnar Klavan once again misses out through a small medial ligament problem, while Daniel Sturridge has suffered a reoccurrence of his hip injury. 

HD Rhian Brewster

The absence of the 27-year-old has opened up a space on the bench for exciting teenager Rhian Brewster, who is named in a senior squad for the first time.

The forward started the season for the club’s Under-18s, but was promoted to the Under-23 side - he scored one and created the other two in their 3-1 victory over Leicester City on Monday.

Brewster, an England U17 international, trained at Melwood this week following that influential display and made enough of an impression to earn a spot in the matchday 18.

Liverpool starting XI: Mignolet, Clyne, Matip, Lovren, Milner, Lucas, Can, Wijnaldum, Coutinho, Firmino, Origi

Liverpool subs: Karius, Moreno, Gomez, Alexander-Arnold, Grujic, Woodburn, Brewster 

Next article:
ISL 2018-19: Time for Mumbai City FC midfielder Md. Rafique to reinvent himself
Next article:
CFL 2018: Takeaways for Mohun Bagan as they become unbeaten champions
Next article:
Rakitic wants more from Barcelona hat-trick hero Messi
Next article:
Sahil Tavora joins Portuguese side GDSC Alvarenga
Next article:
Fake Email scandal? East Bengal might face defamation suit