SuperSport, Bidvest Wits and Platinum Stars discover Confederation Cup fate

ShareClose Comments
The draw for places at the last 16 of the Total CAF Confederation Cup was headlined by intriguing pairings from derbies to rekindling of rivalries

The pick of the pack is the battle between former continental champions, TP Mazembe of DR Congo and Algerian giants, JS Kabylie. Between the two clubs counts seven CAF Champions League titles; five for Mazembe and two for Kabylie, back on the continental front after some time off the scene.

Another interesting pairing is the Moroccan derby which pits FUS Rabat against MAS Fez, a battle of two former winners’ of the second-tier continental club championship. FUS Rabat won the trophy in 2010, and fellows MAS Fez, the following year to complete back-to-back titles for Morocco.

Tanzanian campaigners, Young Africans will face MC Alger in their quest to reach the group phase for the successive season whilst South Africa’s Bidvest comes up against yet another Egyptian opposition in Smouha. The South Africans were eliminated by Al Ahly from the Total CAF Champions League after losing 1-0 on aggregate.

Malagasy champions, CNaPS have been drawn against Recreativo do Libolo of Angola in all Southern affair.

The draw held on Tuesday, 21 March 2017 at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt, was conducted by CAF General Secretary Hicham El Amrani, assisted by Hazem El Hawary, a member of the CAF Interclubs Committee.

Below are the fixtures:

Young Africans (Tanzania) vs MC Alger (Algeria)
TP Mazembe (DR Congo) vs JS Kabylie (Algeria)
AC Leopards (Congo) vs Mbabane Swallows (Swaziland)
FUS Rabat (Morocco) vs MAS Fez (Morocco)
Rangers (Nigeria) vs Zesco (Zambia)
Mounana (Gabon) vs ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)
RC Kadiogo (Burkina Faso) vs CS Sfaxien (Tunisia)
Bidvest (South Africa) vs Smouha (Egypt)
CNaPS (Madagascar) vs Recreativo do Libolo (Angola)
KCCA (Uganda) vs El Masry (Egypt)
Ports Authority (Gambia) vs Hilal Obeid (Sudan)
Port Louis (Mauritius) vs Club Africain (Tunisia)
Rivers United (Nigeria) vs Rayon Sports (Rwanda)
BYC (Liberia) vs Supersports (South Africa)
AS Tanda (Cote d’Ivoire) vs Platinum Stars (South Africa)
Horoya (Guinea) vs Ittihad Tangier (Morocco)

First leg: 7-9 April 2017
Second leg: 14-16 April 2017

Next article:
France prodigy Mbappe is an alien - Varane
Next article:
'He's our extra weapon' - Napoli’s Diawara relishes working under Carlo Ancelotti
Next article:
The 100 most expensive football transfers of all time
Next article:
LaLiga World Tournament: Kerala Blasters announce squad for pre-season tour
Next article:
Imaad inspires charity through football

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept