VIDEO: Ospina helps knock Alexis Sanchez out of World Cup after incredible free-kick blunder

ShareClose Comments
The Arsenal goalkeeper parried an indirect set-piece into his own net, where the goal would have been ruled out had he not got a touch to the ball

David Ospina would probably do well to avoid Alexis Sanchez when he next sees him at Arsenal training.

The Chile international is likely to be less than happy with his Gunners team-mate after a huge, albeit accidental, error helped ruin his hopes of appearing at World Cup 2018.

Unfortunately for Alexis, Colombia goalkeeper Ospina pushed Paolo Guerrero's indirect free-kick into his own net in the 1-1 draw with Peru - a goal that would have been chalked off had he not got a touch due to the rules of the taking of an indirect set-piece.

The strike earned a point for Peru and sent them into the World Cup play-offs, at Chile's expense, with Colombia securing an automatic spot for next year's tournament in Russia.

The Chileans, who were well-beaten by Brazil in their final qualifier, ended up finishing sixth in the CONMEBOL final standings, with Peru one place above them in fifth.

You can watch Ospina's blunder in the clip above!

Next article:
ISL 2018-19: Jamshedpur FC appoint Spanish manager Cesar Ferrando
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Real Madrid prepare £50m Trippier bid
Next article:
Schurrle 'released for talks' as Borussia Dortmund exit nears
Next article:
Ronaldo leaves huge €20k tip for Greek hotel employees
Next article:
'They are the best' - Man United fans keeping De Gea at Old Trafford according to Herrera
Close

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept