New coach for Harambee Starlets as Cosafa squad is named

ShareClose Comments
The 30 players are expected to report to camp on Sunday, August 27, 2017, at Moi Kasarani Stadium

Harambee Starlets have unveiled a new coach that will be in charge of the team at Cosafa tournament.

The newly appointed Starlets coach Richard Kanyi has named a strong squad of 30 players for the championship set for Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, from September 13.

Kanyi will be assisted by Mary Adhiambo in his new role. The 30 players are expected to report to camp on Sunday, August 27, 2017, at Kasarani Stadium in preparation for the tournament.

Kenya has been drawn in Group B alongside Mauritius, Mozambique and Swaziland.

Kenya will face Mozambique on September 14 at Barbourfields Stadium, take on Mauritius on September 16 before winding up their preliminary fixtures against Swaziland on September 18 at Luveve Stadium.

Kenya becomes the second East African nation to make a guest appearance at the tournament, after reigning Cecafa champions Tanzania, who featured in the last edition in 2011.

Article continues below

Zimbabwe are the defending champions having won the last tournament played on home soil in 2011.

Squad: Vivian Akinyi, Jenipher Adhiambo, Paul Atieno, Jane Achila, Wendy-Ann Achieng, Irene Awuor, Dorcas Shikobe, Caroline Anyango, Cheris Avilia, Sharon Bushenei, Mary Wanjiku, Dorcas Anyango and Jacky Ogol.

Others are; Mwanahalima Adams, Lydia Akoth, Judith Musimbi, Lilian Adera, Janet Moraa, Mercy Achieng, Gererder Akinyi, Phoebe Oketch, Neddy Atieno, Teresa Engesha, Juliet Auma, Winfred Achieng, Winnie Kanyotu, Esther Nandika, Jackline Musula, Florence Awino and Lucy Mukhwana.

Next article:
Villarreal defender Semedo arrested for kidnapping, assault, theft
Next article:
Pardew confirms Evans remains West Brom captain
Next article:
Chelsea team news: Injuries, suspensions and line-up vs Man United
Next article:
I-League 2017/18: Santosh Kashyap banking on young brigade to beat Indian Arrows
Next article:
Muntari joins Seedorf at Deportivo La Coruna