Muhoroni Youth rally to cage Zoo in midweek clash

Zoo Kericho have added another point to their tally after drawing Muhoroni Youth on Tuesday

Muhoroni Youth fought hard to draw Zoo Kericho in a midweek league match played on Tuesday at Afraha Stadium.

Zoo went to the match a little bit motivated having recorded their first point in week 6 and they were hopeful of a win against Muhoroni Youth, who had just crashed Sony Sugar.

The hosts started pushing hard in search of an opening goal from the onset of the match; a move whose effect saw Muhoroni Youth’s Isaac Kipyegon stretchered off the pitch after picking an injury.

Dominic Ouma replaced him with a view of re-energizing the James Omondi coached outfit but Zoo defenders were alert to thwart all attempts. Five minutes to the end of first-half, Mike Madoya, the weekend goal scorer against Nzoia Sugar, arose to drill in past Muhoroni Youth keeper for the hosts' lead.

Paul Muchika was the guilty man after fouling Nicholas Kipkurui inside the box for the successful penalty.

In second half, James Omondi made two changes to his team bringing in Phillip Muchuma and Thomas Venval with the aim of stirring up the squad. Indeed, they proved important by crisscrossing the pitch and providing balls upfront for the better part of the stanza.

In the 83rd minute, a handball inside Zoo Kericho’s box prompted referee to award the visitors a penalty which Robert Ouma easily converted to make it 1-1, a score-line which was maintained to the end of the game.

Zoo Kericho will now meet Ulinzi Stars as Muhoroni Youth host Tusker in the league’s round 8 schedule.

Zoo Kericho: Vincent Misikhu, Johnstone Ligare, William Obayi, Stanlaus Akiya, Isaac Kipyegon, Nixon Amulundu, Geoffrey Gichana, Michael Madoya, Kevin Omondi, Kipkirui Nicholas and Bernard Odhiambo.

Article continues below

Subs: Samuel Koko, Sindani Sabiri, Dominic Ouma, Andrew Ongwae, Danson Namaskha, Kepha Ondati and Kelvin Oduor.

Muhoroni Youth: Salim Sowedi, Robert Mudenyu, Robert Ouma, Faina Jacobs, Paul Muchika, Collins Agade, Bliss Kityo, Maxwell Onyango, Ishmael Kabugu, Kennedy Rono (CPT) and Daniel Otieno.

Subs: Gradus Ochieng’ James Ogada, Tom Adwar, Thomas Venval, Mohammed Mwachiponi, Eric Baki and Phillip Muchuma.

Next article:
Southgate lauds 'tremendous' attackers following win over Spain
Next article:
'Nothing special about Gernot Rohr' – Dosu Joesph compares Nigeria coach to Stephen Keshi
Next article:
Neymar pleased Brazil will not face Messi in Argentina clash
Next article:
F2Tekkz continues to dominate FUT Champions Weekend League
Next article:
Ending England drought a 'beautiful feeling' – Sterling