Mourinho equals Sir Alex Ferguson's League Cup record

ShareClose Comments
The Portuguese now sits alongside the former Red Devils boss - as well as Brian Clough - in the rankings having led his side to a 3-2 win on Sunday

Jose Mourinho has now won the League Cup four times, a joint-record among managers along with Brian Clough and former Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson.

Man Utd let off with disallowed goal

United played out a thrilling Wembley final with Southampton on Sunday, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic scoring twice to secure the trophy for the Red Devils.

Manolo Gabbiadini had an early goal ruled out for offside but went on to score twice, levelling the game after Jesse Lingard put United 2-0 up in the first half. 

Manchester United Southampton

Manchester United Southampton

Ibrahimovic struck three minutes from time, though, securing United's fifth League Cup trophy, and Mourinho's fourth.

A one-man show - Where would Man Utd be without Zlatan?

The Portuguese led Chelsea to the trophy in 2005, 2007 and 2015, with Sunday's victory his first major trophy as United boss. 

Mourinho also became the first manager to win a major trophy in his first season at Old Trafford.

Next article:
GAA refusing to host benefit game for ex-Man Utd star Miller
Next article:
ISL 2018-19: Jamshedpur FC appoint Spanish manager Cesar Ferrando
Next article:
Transfer news & rumours LIVE: Real Madrid prepare £50m Trippier bid
Next article:
Schurrle 'released for talks' as Borussia Dortmund exit nears
Next article:
Ronaldo leaves huge €20k tip for Greek hotel employees

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept