Modric named Croatian Player of the Year for the fifth time

ShareClose Comments
The Real Madrid star has reclaimed the award from Barcelona rival Ivan Rakitic after helping his club win the Champions League in 2016

Real Madrid star Luka Modric has been named the Croatian Player of the Year for the fifth time in his career.

Ronaldo 'shocked' by Owen fat joke

Modric, 31, previously won the prize handed out by newspaper Vecernji List in 2007, 2008, 2011 and 2014 but lost out to Barcelona midfielder Ivan Rakitic in 2015.

He has reclaimed the award, however, after winning the Champions League with Madrid last May and impressing during Croatia's participation at Euro 2016.

"This prize means a lot to me, it's the fifth time I've received it and it's very special for me because it has a great tradition," Modric told Madrid's official website. 

"I want to thank those who voted for me. I have to keep working hard and improving every day. I want to thank those who have helped me to win this award."

Modric claimed 110 points in the voting, placing ahead of Rakitic (80) and Juventus striker Mario Mandzukic (76) in the top three.

China raid of PL stars only the beginning

Only Davor Suker has been handed the accolade on more occasions than Modric, with the retired striker named the country's top performer six times.

Next article:
The 100 most expensive football transfers of all time
Next article:
'Arsenal board happy to lose Alexis for free' - Wenger
Next article:
Montreal Impact 3-0 Chicago Fire: Piatti double sinks slumping visitors
Next article:
Asensio: Real Madrid deserved Supercopa title
Next article:
Celtic inspired by Conor McGregor to big UCL win against Astana